Being Thankful…Lightning in a Jar

This time of year, there are scads of posts about Thanksgiving and being thankful. I was recently sent (via e-mail) a beautiful slide show about how much we who live in the ‘civilized world’ tend to take for granted.

How often do you really sit back and give thanks for how blessed you truly are? I try to be grateful every day, but I don’t always succeed…I forget, or get cranky and sometimes compare my life with those who have more. But by focusing on what we HAVE, instead of what we DON’T HAVE, it makes it much easier to be thankful.

So, with that in mind, here’s the slide show. I hope you enjoy the gorgeous photos (the last one is my favorite!) and beautiful (and sobering) thoughts. Thanks to all my friends out there on the interwebs. You help make my life complete! 🙂 *BIG HUGS*

P.S. As for Thanksgiving? Well…

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Holidays, Inspiration, Life, Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Being Thankful…Lightning in a Jar

  1. Pingback: From Athens With Love « Broken Sparkles

  2. Oh, Corina! Yes, the last image is the one I liked the most and here is where I wish you to have a nice day too and send you lot’s of love from Athens and me. Lovely slide show! Happy Thanksgiving to you! We don’t have Thanksgiving here, but I did have the traditional lunch with few of my American friends! They always do it the week before the actual holiday, because for the day they go back to the States! Be well! And thank you for being such a lovely friend!

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    Loved the slideshow Corina – but I want some of that turkey…hehehe

  4. Bodhirose says:

    I love that–someone sent that to me years ago and I have always remembered it. Startling isn’t it? I need to count my blessings and stop complaining…

    Thanks, Corina–you’re the best!

  5. eebrinker says:

    lol …. love that Maxine cartoon! i try not to venture into the snide area when it comes to what one “has” and our view of what is a part of other lives. like it is difficult to live day after day with the realization that all is balance, and we have running water and clean (relatively) streets and (for the most part) safe homes. we have those things while others who deserve as much or more, do not. what kind of a mind thrives on disparity? the font, the reasoning that getting “more” is some kind of ‘proof’ of anything. well, all we can do is work to share. a basic tenet we give our children … that many forget as adults. the real mind-bender, is to consider that we can AFFORD to have those kind of thoughts and principals, by the very nature within the wealth of our country.

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Yeah, I like Maxine. She tells it like it is, no b.s. You make a very good point about being ABLE to have the kind of thoughts and principals we do by simply being blessed enough to be born in the society where we are. I wasn’t trying to dwell on disparity (although I can definitely see how this slide show does that), just remind people to be thankful for what they DO have, rather than what they DON’T. When people in America really stop and think about how fortunate we are, it makes it a little easier to see that it’s okay not to have the million dollar mansion or all the unnecessary “stuff” that so many have been brainwashed into thinking that they need. You are absolutely right about the sharing, though. I wish more people “got” that concept.

Leave a comment