~ A Winter Minute ~

I heard the sad call of an owl, tonight,
ringing clear in the cold, night air.
The hollow, mournful hoot of only one,
whose lonesome voice seemed so full of care.

‘Twas melancholy, yet it was strong,
as it pierced the crisp, quiet dark.
It was a simple, haunting, natural song
as the owl sounded out his mark.

It echoed off of the frost below,
kept company with the pale, winter moon.
It sounded as cool as the snow’s soft glow,
wanting Spring to get here soon.

I listened for a few long moments more,
my breath steaming warm in the cold.
I wanted to answer his sad call with Hope
that the springtime would still promise hold.

That though both owl and I were still alone,
Winter’s grip fades to gentle new starts.
And the warmth of fresh beginnings unknown
would melt the ice around both of our hearts…
~ C.L.R. ~
© 2006
About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~ A Winter Minute ~

  1. You have so many pearls around here, I was just looking for poems to post together with your interview and I got lost in reading your stuff 🙂

  2. dragonkatet says:

    Aw, thanks very much, Blaga. 🙂 Not many people read the old stuff, but that’s okay. Thanks for taking the time!!

Leave a Reply

