Hello world!

Hello, world.

To tell you all about me would take more space than I have here and more time than either of us may have at the moment, so I’ll try to “sum up” who I am and what I’m about. I’ll thank you in advance if you take the time to read this and wish you well if you don’t. Either way, I hope you find whatever it is in this life that you’re looking for and thanks for the interest.

I’ll start by saying I’m an unusual person and they broke the mold when they made me! I’ve literally seen the earth from the harness of a hang-glider, thousands of feet above it, and from the depths of caves, hundreds of feet below it and I’m here to tell you…the world is a huge, ever-changing and interesting place! I love this planet and have the deepest respect for it – so do your part to help save it, eh?

I’m an ISFJ Personality Type. In Layman’s terms, that pretty much means I’m a sensitive, giving and responsible person (also called “The Nurturer” Type). I’m a philosopher with a poet’s soul. My writing is the one thing in this life which has always sustained me, no matter what. If I am alive, I am writing. I also draw and work with textiles and clay. In short, I create. Whether it’s aesthetically good or bad is a matter of opinion, but nevertheless, it’s something I am compelled to do.

I watch the stars and tend to think a lot…some would say “too much” but I try not to listen to those people. 😉 In case you couldn’t tell by my page, I LOVE dragons, but I’m very particular about the ones which go into my collection. I apply that same philosophy to the people I allow into my life: which is to say, I’m picky.

I’m a Hopeful Romantic, because I would much rather be Hopeful than Hopeless. I follow my heart and my dreams and never give up. Life and Love aren’t easy, but all we ever have is one day at a time. No one knows the future…and if you give up today, you might just miss the best part of your life tomorrow! Don’t you wanna know how it turns out? I do.

I’m not a materialistic person, because I’ve learned that it’s not the “things” in life which really count, but the people you connect with, whose lives you touch or who touch yours. I don’t take anyone or anything for granted because I know from experience that it can all disappear in the blink of a cosmic eye. People and animals are so much more important (and interesting!) to me than any kind of material possessions.

There is a vast difference between “living” and “existing”. I can be intense at times, but I won’t apologize for it. You either like and accept me as I am or you don’t. If and when I change, it’s for me, not for anyone else. Passion tends to breed intensity, and there are many things in life which I’m passionate about. That’s one of the ways I know I’m “living” and not just “existing”.

Our emotions and thoughts make up our personalities, but it’s our actions and the choices we make which TRULY define us. I try hard to have the courage of my convictions and match my actions with my words. I don’t always succeed, but hey, I try. I’m human. I make mistakes. But I’m genuine ~ honest to a fault with no hidden agendas: what you see is what you get.

The great thing about life is…you can “Start Over” every, single day…if that’s what you CHOOSE. Because it is a choice – One of my favorite lines in a movie, ever, is: “You either get busy living, or get busy dying.” Which one are you doing?

Actions ALWAYS speak louder than words. It’s what we DO in life that counts, in the end. Today might be the last day of your life and you’d never know it, so you might as well make it count. Why are YOU here?

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello world!

  1. bendedspoon says:

    exciting
    life
    awesome
    existence
    🙂

  2. How wonderfully described! There is nothing wrong at looking at the stars and thinking, I do it too! And there is nothing wrong at being picky when it comes to the people who will surround you! I am glad to have met you Dragon girl, you make a difference, even if you are miles away and hours separated from me :)!

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Aw, the feeling is mutual, my sweet friend! I have a package I will be mailing to you this week. Not sure when you will get it, but I know you will like what’s inside!

Leave a Reply

