~ The Dreamer’s Reply ~

~ The Dreamer’s Reply ~

As I sat in sullen silence,

pondering Reality’s Tale,

a gentle muse came drifting in,

her innocence a subtle veil.

She softly sat beside me

and questioned, “Why so sad, my friend?”

I looked upon her thoughtfully

and replied, “I’m awake, at dreaming’s end.”

“You’ve given up on dreaming?

What could cause this hopeless state?”

Her questions begged for answers,

and so I didn’t make her wait.

“Reality has been cold to me,”

I said with a shaky voice.

“It made me see that dreamers

have a sad and painful choice.”

“No matter the height I set my dreams,

Reality pulls me back to earth.

I want so much to believe in Love,

to know Faith and Hope’s true worth.”

“But every time I seek these things,

away from me they fly.

I stay aloft on dreamer’s wings,

then Reality makes me cry.”

“So if all I get is illusions,

then what point is there in belief?

I just want some satisfaction,

and yet all I get is grief.”

The muse laid her hand upon my cheek,

and wiped away the tears that fell.

Her voice was kind, compassionate,

as her answer to me she did tell.

“Sweet one,” she gently addressed me.

“The point is that you still keep trying.

For every dream of yours that fails,

another one will keep thee flying.”

“Ever follow your heart, my friend.

Though it may continue to break,

the rewards that true Love can offer you

are worth the risks you take.”

“Always remember that Hope can save,

and Faith can sometimes keep you going.

Though life is hard, and Reality harsher,

take comfort in this truth’s knowing.”

“Never give up what’s important to you.

Dreamers accomplish some great things, you see.

If those Dreamers of the past had given up,

tell me, where would the present world be?”

“It takes such strength to be a Dreamer,

when the rest of the world is cold, it seems.

But it’s us that keep the Light alive

so please don’t give up on your dreams.”

~ C.L.R. ~

© 2004

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

