~ Ode to Michelangelo ~


The power of a touch,

Creation.

A man,

In repose,

Reaches upward towards his God.


Awesome strength —

The elasticity and power

Of intangible muscles.

Intense vibrations

Of physical prowess,

Combined with the delicacy

Of a creative, vain perfectionist.

Rippling energy extends

From the outstretched hand,

Not yet touching,

But at the moment of climax,

The explosion of Life — of the first breath.

A billowing cloud of angels forms the backdrop,

For this,

The Everlasting Entity.


The Earth,

His spine and heart,

The breath of his creator,

His air.

He awaits,

Silently,

The first touch

That will animate him,

And lead him onward, ever onward,

Toward his descendants,

And the ultimate fall

Of sin…

~ C.L.R. ~

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to ~ Ode to Michelangelo ~

  1. … the ultimate fall of sin …
    I love how it ends!

  2. Jamie Dedes says:

    This is perfectly wonderful. Like Blaga, I love the close but I also love the build-up … perfect for the challenge. Bravo!

    FYI: Next week we are funning a full week of Poets Against War. You poem is included in the challenge. If I remember correctly, it’s scheduled for Thursday. Thanks again! 🙂

  3. Great ending to a poem full of energy…very nice indeed!

  4. PoetJanstie says:

    This is powerful and the short lines work so well to emphasise the story in the painting. Great ekphrasis!

  5. Beautifully written. I sometimes like to skip titles, read the poem, and then guess the intention of the writer. It didn’t take me long to recognize this was about Michelangelo, but for me, somehow, the divine peered through as well.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Victoria! Michelangelo is one of those artists who I was exposed to early in my youth and the power of his works left an undeniable impression. Finding the perfect titles is one of my favorite parts of poetry crafting, but I know what you mean about guessing the writer’s intentions – it’s kind of a litmus test to see if the writing is strong enough to stand on its own without a title. It wouldn’t surprise me in the least to imagine that there was a guiding Divine hand with this one. 🙂

  6. I think that this is quite brilliant

Leave a Reply

