~ “There”-apy ~

Who needs a shrink, when one has friends?
But so many are indiscriminate, I think,
Between friends and acquaintances.
The difference in the two,
Lies in their willingness
To be “there”.
So many people can’t or won’t do
What it takes to make
It real, or fair.
One-way streets of convenience
Aren’t friendships. They’re illusion.
And the casual way the word
“Friend” is flung about only adds
To the confusion. I have heard
That said so many times,
But so few ever mean it.
“You’re in my thoughts,” but they never call.
“Take care,” they say, but don’t care at all.
And I am NOT a guiltless one.
But at least I make the effort, and try.
Some will act as if they haven’t seen it,
Or couch excuses of an all “too busy” life.
But true friends are such a rare gift, and I
Still keep reaching out.
Does that make me a fool for believing?
What then, of “there”apy?
What value or sense, in a “friend’s”
Deceiving emptiness, and hollow
Promises which never come to be?
How can you be a “friend”
If you’re never, really “there”?
If you never call, or write,
And never reach out?
It’s a two-way street,
The door swings both ways.
THAT is what true “friendship”
Is really about.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2007

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~ “There”-apy ~

  1. bendedspoon says:

    friendship is indeed a two way street
    if one didn’t get in touch for quite some time
    then surely the other one didn’t too
    friendship is still felt with the heart
    there are people whom i am with practically everyday
    but they are no more than my friend than the one i see annually 🙂

Leave a Reply

