~ The Star That Shines Twice As Brightly ~

I’d like to fly in the night sky soon,

send my soul soaring, to the stars.

I’d like to shed this careworn skin,

and leave this heavy world of ours…

Oh, to cast off mortal woes!

And set this longing spirit free!

Unchain this life from weighted cares,

remake me as pure energy.

I’d streak across the midnight blue,

a fiery trail in my wake.

A reckless, unbound shooting star,

set free, for dreaming’s sake.

I’d wisp and slide around the void,

while the pure moon waxed and waned.

I’d shout defiance to all who tried,

to keep my mind fettered and chained.

And gleaming, streaming, sparkling light,

would mark me as Hope’s child.

Forever, could I roam far worlds,

and forever could I stay wild…

Nevermore bound to earthly trials,

I’d dance with the cosmic winds of change.

Following immortal, infinite flux,

discovering secrets, both known and strange.

My mind unwinds this vision bright,

I so yearn for this, freedom’s dream…

And I sigh, for I won’t get my wish this night.

Because I’m still tethered here, it would seem….

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2003

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

