~ A View of the Vernal ~


Spring beckons all the green things awake,

With soft sunshine and breathy gusts,

It blows life into bloom,

Fills the whole world’s room,

With new growth and buds,

That burst and bust!

Spring’s ranging, changing give and take,

Fills forests and fields with fairy dusts,

Blades of bright green,

The wind’s billowing keen,

And pollen’s featherless flight,

Fills the plants with lusts!

Bees will soon be back to build,

Another generation of reasons to stop,

And smell such scents,

So sweetly filled,

To the brim of each velvety, rainbowed cup.

Come, Spring, and lay the cold to rest!

Fill each heart with songs and light!

Quicken blood and release your flood,

To smooth away dark Winter’s night.

So much to do and so few hours,

Like a squirrel with a caffeine buzz,

Still, Spring has subtle, simple powers…

Like rain,

And flowers,

And baby animal fuzz.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2009

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~ A View of the Vernal ~

  1. wightrabbit says:

    Wonderful words, fascinating image, Corina! I love it that you’ve posted this just as we in the northern hemisphere are entering the winter months. Often I stand in my garden, in one season or another and I can sense the next, the one that seems so far away at that moment.

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thanks much, J! I love gardening, myself, although I’m not as talented at it as you seem to be. There is just something soothing and satisfying about digging in the dirt and being able to coax life from our efforts – a bit like divine creation, I imagine. I think I know what you mean about sensing the next season…at the tail end of winter, I have observed my flower beds and extended my spirit/will to try and sense the dormant bulbs which will be coming to life in the early spring…there is a spiritual energy to gardening that I think people who don’t do it cannot understand. 🙂

Leave a Reply

