~ Dreams of Another Life ~

Before I had slept my life away, and wondered what, in the end, I would say for myself when I finally answered for all of the things I had wished but never done…I bandy thoughts about,  like balls, and ruminate these forgotten halls of memories of better days and  nights of solid conviction  when this mind was young.

What causes sudden regret I don’t know, but it’s something deep in the psyche’s flow of compromise and being willing to give, in the hopes of getting better later.  What they don’t tell you, but you have to learn, is that even the fairest skin can burn with longing to finish the original desire of something greater.

“Be true to thyself” you’ll hear time and again, and the idea’s good, but the price of this sin is that often times your self will change many times before you find your truth.  The sooner you know who you are, you see, the easier getting there will be, and you may accomplish much before you’ve grown too long in the proverbial tooth.

Regrets are just a waste of time, for no one knows what mountains they’ll climb, nor do they know the hour of death – it comes to all eventually. Do what you can with what you’ve got, and about woulda, coulda, shouldas, worry not. You do or you don’t, you did or you didn’t, and the past cannot be changed …so just “be”.

Those roads not taken can lead to places you might never imagine, and be filled with faces you thought you knew but didn’t, really.  None can know the mind of another, so before you waste your time and bother, learn who you are and what you want, so that your direction will come to you more freely.

No one knows his future for certain, but destinies are made by the will behind the curtain, and whatever wizard works your fate, try to be as sure as you can of intent. Your actions will stand in the dim light of time’s hand, and only you can decide who you are, where you go, and ultimately, how your life will be spent.

~ C.L.R. © 2009 ~

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

