~ Fucking Fine ~

Rejection is a bitter pill,

And from beloved, harsher still.

We all self-medicate to kill

Reality’s forsaken thrill.


There comes a beast called Unslaked Thirst,

Whose predatory call is worst

When too oft denied, and simple pride

Constructs tall walls in a “fuck you” burst.


Resentment murders Love, I know,

Yet still, if stung, the anger shows,

Self-righteous prick

Of wounded ego.


I’m so not doing this again,

Been there, done that, and watched it end.

Observing as it fell in flames,

Of over-sexed, immature, lustful games.


Second-string I’ll never play,

To anyone, no how, no way.

It’s never about sheer obligation,

To suggest it, borders on degradation.


So you take your time, and I’ll take mine,

I’m used to living with walls unclimbed.

Eventually, the beast will feed,

And satisfy that unanswered need.


Until then, sweep this ego aside,

Let it go, even though it hurts inside.

Rejection turns my reflection cold,

From fear of being replaced by gold.


No real woman can quite compete

With airbrushed fantasies of meat.

Although even the softest roses have thorns,

And if you rile the bull, you might just get horns.


Fantasy’s a necessary evil,

But I’ve lived it coming between two people.

Self-centered love can kill it dead;

Love can’t sleep in Resentment’s bed.


Funny, how I’ll have to be the bigger “man”,

And let it go, for now, if I can.

Compassion wars with passion’s ache,

Sooner or later, that thirst will get slaked.


A “Fuck it” attitude helps a lot.

When the chips have all fallen, we’ll see

What’s what.

After all, I’ll still be here, just fine.

Reality beats fantasy, every time.


If you don’t see it, or want to admit,

Then nothing I say or do will change shit,

So keep your distance and self-gratify,

And when you meet walls of ice,

You’ll know why.


~ C.L.R. ~ © 2009

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~ Fucking Fine ~

  1. wightrabbit says:

    This is packed with the full range of emotions that I remember feeling 2O years ago, Corina. At our son’s wedding last summer, the second to last verse came absolutely true ~ and I smiled sweetly at his father and knew I was absolutely right to end our marriage the instant that I understood that he could/would not alter his unacceptable behaviour towards me. Thank you for telling my story so eloquently 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Wow. Hindsight is always 20/20, isn’t it? I’m sorry that you had to go through anything like what I wrote about. No one should have to suffer that, but it’s about boundaries and what we are willing to accept. I’m really glad that you made the right choice for you. I’m sure it was hard. It gets a little easier when they act like horse’s arses, but it is still a tough thing to go through. Thanks for reading and not being offended at some of the language I used. I don’t often drop the “F-bomb” but there are times when nothing else seems quite as appropriate.

Leave a Reply

