Keeping the focus in the right place…

  • I’ve been a maelstrom of thoughts lately, and have been looking for a good outlet. I’ve also remembered that there is a raving ‘control freak’ buried within my subconscious. *laughs*I keep forgetting about it and then realize how it tends to surface and starts sabotaging my contentment and happiness in life. I start focusing on other things, other people and their actions. My own actions then start to try and control everything in my life, including the people I interact with every day. The problem…is that it doesn’t work. And this makes my inner control freak increasingly more frustrated.

    Then I realize – I’m in control of nothing and no one else but ME.

    I cannot control others, nor how they act or react. I can only control me and my actions/reactions. I am happier when I keep the focus in the right place, and concentrate on what I am doing, what I can do, now, at this moment…how I can improve ME.

    It’s funny, because I think a lot of people who are giving and compassionate are “other centered” – they give so much of their time and energy worrying about others and how they can help others. This is a GREAT thing. It is one of the main strengths of human nature. However…one can become so involved and committed to worrying about others that it becomes habit, and the self is forgotten and neglected.  We go through the motions, take care of the bare essentials for ourselves and before you know it, we’re so wrapped up in what other people are doing (or not doing) that we’ve forgotten about the one thing we can control: us.

    Again, it comes down to balance in all things. A balance of giving to others and giving to ourselves is not easy to achieve, especially for those of us who get great satisfaction out of helping others. But you know what? The more we improve ourselves, the better help we can be to others. The more aware we are of what motivates us, the better able we become to channel those motivations to bring the light, love and happiness into our lives and control the outcome of what happens to us.

    Keep the focus in the right place…and don’t forget to breathe.


About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

