Energy Flows Where Attention Goes…

Photobucket

Maintaining a positive attitude can be pretty tough this time of year. There’s so much stress and pressure, and a lot of times we spend the holidays without loved ones, whether by choice or circumstance, so it makes it even tougher, going it alone.  The key, I think, is where you place your focus. If you focus on what (or who) is missing, that’s what is going to be foremost in your thoughts and feelings. If you focus on what (or who) you have, then that will be the force which guides your thoughts and feelings.

The good news is that there is a new year just ahead. Whether it’s a continuation of this year (and all the accompanying thoughts, feelings, etc.) or a new beginning is entirely up to you. You can choose to drag all that baggage with you into next year or not. Some of you may say, “But it’s a part of who I am. How do I avoid taking it with me when it’s such a part of me?” Okay, fair enough – we are all made up of our past experiences and to some extent, we all have ‘baggage’ that we take with us, sometimes unconsciously. What I’m suggesting is that we become more aware of what ‘parts of us’ we can leave behind and make a conscious effort to do so.

Think of it as a journey and pack lightly. Do you really want to be weighed down by heavy thoughts and emotions? Life can be serious and hard enough without us adding to it by not being aware of how we cycle through positive and negative phases.  If you’re blue or feeling stressed, then take a minute to figure out where it’s coming from and take action to redirect that energy into something more helpful and positive for you. Remember that we can’t control other people, but we CAN control how we react to them. We can’t control what life throws at us, but we CAN control how we react to what circumstances we’re given.

If I start feeling blue and feeling sorry for myself, I turn the focus on trying to be thankful for what and who I do have in my life. There are so many others out there who are so much less fortunate than me. And from that perspective, I have a lot to be grateful for in my life.

Another way is to help others. When you give of yourself, whether it’s time, money, effort, or simply being there to listen and lend a hand when you can, you become part of something much larger than yourself. It’s a way to ‘get out of your head’ and witness the positive impact you can have on other people and their lives.

As humans, we all have stress and negativity which affect us. But I hope you choose to be happy and thankful in the days ahead and focus on the good things about your life, or the good things which you can do for others. Spreading the light and kindness is one of the best ways to create your own positive energy in your life! Which is not to say that you should help others to selfishly enrich your own life…just that like attracts like…positive energy will beget more positive energy (just as negativity feeds on itself, too).  What kind of energy are you creating/maintaining?

I hope you choose to be happy today and in the days to come! 🙂 Peace and light to you all!

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Inspiration, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Energy Flows Where Attention Goes…

  1. penpusherpen says:

    I felt ‘scratchy’ today, still wondering about the culprit. I will put choice on the menu.x

  2. bendedspoon says:

    Just what I need and I believe you sensed it — thank you!
    Got to align my thinking and focus on things that are beautiful.
    🙂

  3. kensandin says:

    What an inspiring post for the new year! Yes, may we all leave behind some form of unnecessary baggage, whether big or small. Thank you!

  4. Well done! I agree …
    Lovely blog. Will be back to mine …
    Blog on –

  5. Your artwork is interesting and dramatic. It is yours, I take it??!! Lovely. Striking.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Ach! No, the artwork is probably from a search through Google Images! I’m sorry if I gave the impression that it is mine, as that was not my intent. I do draw and work with textiles, and have a few things in a gallery on deviantart under ‘dragonkatet’ but most of the time, I try to find an image that matches the post or create a post to match an image I like. I work at a library and am very concerned about following proper guidelines to give credit where it is due (to the artist). If I cannot find out who did the original piece, I at least will not claim it as my work. The swirling gifs on my sidebar are actually the work of dj_smalley at deviantart, and I think they are fantastic! I have lots of neat pictures on Photobucket – (dragonkatet again) and try to give credit to the artists when I can.

  6. Olivia says:

    Very beautiful thoughts..
    I had turned into a recluse 3 years back. Then one fine day, writing happened and I felt I had become awakened! I began to love all, forgiving their fallacies and faults.. Love did come back to me too!! I located back all my contact whom I thought I had lost forever. There were many broken strings those were supposed to flow like a spring. In no time, everything was fixed. I do have my share of stress still left at one side to deal with; my Life has definitely become a better place to live in!
    What you have written here, has happened with me- you give to all, they all give it back to you in many folds..

    Wishing you Love n Luck
    xoxoxox

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Olivia. I’m glad you were able to get back to the light. 🙂 I believe that we get back the energy that we put out there – the Universe works to balance things, but we have to take responsibility for making our lives what we want them to be. Thanks so much for dropping by!

Leave a Reply

