~ Resonation Nation ~

 

Image borrowed from wikimedia commons

Image borrowed from wikimedia commons

I wish:
That we could all resonate
With the Universe’s
Love,
Not hate.
That Good Ol’ Boys politics welcomed
Honest Debate.
To think that we’ve come so far,
And yet…
There are those in power
Whose only mandate is that their opponent fail.
What a state
Of affairs we’ve come to.

Yeats was right, that “…the center cannot hold.”
When the truths behind actions,
Aren’t openly told,
Or electoral votes can be bought
And then sold.
A friend asked, “What price, Liberty?”
In a world of such shadowed pasts,
No one’s free.
I mourn there’s “tradition”
Called “Biggotry”.

So why can’t we
Be
A resonation nation?

A better humanity for everyone…
“With Liberty, Justice and Freedom for All.”
So, why try to make sure that your president
Falls?
And why keep setting up wall after wall,
IF help for the People
Is what you want done?

What we project is what we receive.
Attached to a system programmed to deceive
Those whose only purpose
Is just to blindly believe.
Because a “House divided cannot stand.”
And in the political quagmire
Of shifting sands of alliance,
There spans an ocean bridged
By acts of Faith and an open hand.

Are we deaf to the harmonies, memories, lessons?
The deaths of the poor
Are not grieved by the rich.
The same, old song, but the record’s cracked.
Static rhetoric disrupts the needed pitch,
The frequency drowns in skewed feedback.
Feeding the fears with phantom lines,
Pulling the strings a thousand times,
No resonation with a nation of sheep;
Their ears are blocked,
Their minds asleep.

Can the signal be changed?
Can the focus be shifted,
From money and power
To the People,
Uplifted?
Would they ever sacrifice their lot
To give what they have
To every “Have not”?
So that all could be equal and harmony reign?
No…the rich get richer
And all else stays the same…
When our president fails.
We ALL lose the “game”.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2010

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to ~ Resonation Nation ~

  1. Chaka Sichangi says:

    I read a lot… your poetry makes me feel like I need to read a lot more… and that’s very powerful.
    I look forward to reading more of your writing; I’m excited even.

Leave a Reply

