~ Sea Creatures’ Lament ~

Photobucket

Once, we fathomed azure depths,
Once, fins flew through crystalline blue,
Once, we swam where leviathans slept,
Our ocean home was all we knew.

Then the big, black water came.
The toxic fumes which filled our gills,
Soon, our roof was set aflame,
We knew nothing of Man’s political spills.

It blocked the sun and stole our precious air,
It covered our brothers and sisters with slime,
We swam deep, but black water was everywhere,
We fled, as our world ran out of time.

The only home we had ever known,
Was fouled and destroyed by Mankind’s greed.
They kill our mother, with no remorse shown,
The profits kill the guilt, while we bleed.

For decades we’ll die in this wasteland of wet,
Our exodus to end on the stinking, black sand.
Never did nature more keenly regret,
The creation of the animal known as Man.

© ~ C.L.R. ~ 6/15/10

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to ~ Sea Creatures’ Lament ~

  1. A.T Smith says:

    Really like this one. And I completely agree.

  2. Yes indeed. Once has such thoughts and sorrows. Well done, Very well done.

  3. Jingle says:

    feel free to share old poems to Jingle poetry as well,

    I like your blog a lot. enjoy the ride.

  4. dragonkatet says:

    Ah, thank you, Jingle. I wasn’t sure if older poems were acceptable. Thanks for letting me know and I definitely plan to enjoy the ride.

Leave a Reply

