Time Capsule

So my mom has decided to bury a time capsule in her back yard. She had a really cool pond out there for twelve years and recently got rid of it (the maintenance was becoming too much for her) leaving a large, gaping hole in the yard. While thinking about filling it in, she came up with the idea for the time capsule. She has registered it with the International Time Capsule Society (who even knew there was such a thing?) and everything, and has set a date for opening it in fifty years (in the year 2060).

Each registered time capsule has to have a name, and hers will be called “The Ghost Frog”. Why that name? Every year, for twelve years, in early spring, there was one particular type of frog that made a sound which was immediately recognizable. It’s a long, high trill, lasting several seconds.  She would always say “Oh, the ghost frog is back” because that’s what the sound reminded her of: a ghost. LOL.  FINALLY, I decided to use the inter-webs to try and discover what kind of frog it was, because I could never get close enough to it to identify it by sight. Turns out, it’s not a frog at ALL, but a TOAD. Here is what it sounds like. Who knew?

Anyway, she has asked me and a few select other people to put things in the capsule, and to each write our “predictions” on a piece of paper which will then be placed in individually sealed, hand-decorated envelopes. She asked me to write a poem to include. In thinking of this as a way to kind of “communicate” through time, I’ve been working on this for a couple of days. This is one poem on which I would prefer to have some feedback from other people. It’s definitely not my strongest work, but I think I’ve conveyed the message I wanted to.

Other than feedback on the piece, though, have you ever thought about what you would put into a time capsule and why? What are YOUR predictions? 🙂

Thanks for reading and enjoy!

* * * * * * * * *

~ A Message Across Time’s Span ~

When all that “is” shall cease to be,
When Time has formed present into past,
When gone is the person known as “me”,
Will mankind have found redemption, at last?

In an effort to speak to future shepherds,
With an unknown poet’s humble pen,
I ask you to listen and heed these words,
Lest history repeat itself, once again.

We worked hard to kill this beautiful world;
Polluted its oceans, stripped its rich lands.
Our bottomless appetites were unfurled,
Blood from all the plants and beasts stained our hands.

All for voracious, rapacious greed.
All we were given was never enough.
Let this, then, serve as a thought-started seed,
Man CAN survive without all of that “stuff”.

The Earth is unique – our only home.
Treat Her better than we did in our time.
Be aware of your actions, wherever you roam,
Let Love be the legacy of mankind.

Be kind to each other, and realize,
That we all fight some sort of battle. It’s true.
Today is all we’re given, to idealize.
Tomorrow’s not promised. Do what you can do.

Make the world a better place because you’re in it.
Choose to spend your hours in smiles.
Don’t take for granted a single minute,
Life can be beautiful, despite its trials.

Remember that love can overcome,
And know that peace can still prevail.
Believe in yourself, and all you become,
Keep Hope as your beacon,
And you will not fail.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2010

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

