~ A Worthwhile Life ~

(Written in the spirit of the theme for Week 21 of Jingle’s Poetry Potluck, re: Aims, Goals and Ambitions)

How is one to measure life’s worth?

What stick or scale to help us judge?

The accomplishments in a human span,

are nothing compared to Infinity’s sand.

What makes a person’s life worthwhile?

A job well done? A simple smile?

The amount of people one names as ‘friends’?

And do the means ever justify the ends?

How does one take measure of life’s worth?

What past count or judgment abide?

Such speedy, greedy creatures, lives gone in a blink.

Hoping those who follow will learn. And think.

To build on what another has done.

And call it thine, before you’re gone.

What makes a person’s life a success?

Regardless of theories, it’s all just a guess.

This is how I believe one can measure life’s worth,

and perhaps take comfort in simplicity:

If one can, at the end, hold one’s head up high,

and wake one day, with all the years flown by,

look back and say, “I did what I could.

I was loved by many, strove to do only good.

I sacrificed much, so others might find peace.

I followed my dreams, my heart, without cease.

I gave without taking, and helped others grow.

I tried to find beauty in all that I know.

I was honest, and faithful, my honor stayed true.

I was brave, tried to help others find their way, too.”

If at the end, you can look back with a smile,

then you’ll know truly, my friend,

that your life was worthwhile…

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2011

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Life, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to ~ A Worthwhile Life ~

  1. bendedspoon says:

    Bravo! Something to ponder and achieve that I may look back with a smile! 🙂

  2. eebrinker says:

    wow … that was beautiful. interesting when one looks at what ‘contentment’ means. every christmas … every gift-giving … grandmother was almost apologetic. the constant litany out of her mouth, “i wish it could be more.” and i wonder about the psychologies. especially when you look at the differences in generations, and “how” one ages. i think the balance to bitter and angry is being grateful —

    and somehow simply knowing that the qualities you mention here are ones that catch-on and spread; that the principals can go forward even when we ourselves pass.

    kind of off the subject, but did you see the thing on the fish dying in Florida? entire school of fish committed suicide. makes me wonder about the carbon/oxygen balance —

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E. I think there is a difference between ‘contentment’ and ‘happiness’ – not sure what, exactly, but for the moment, I’ll settle for contentment. I think you are right about balancing out bitterness and anger with being grateful. I love the idea of good values living on beyond a single person’s lifespan…to me, it’s kind of like that cliché about “love conquers all” and I like to think, idealist that I am, that the good of mankind will somehow outweigh its evil in the end.

      Re: the fish (and birds)…that’s some weird, scary shit. I don’t know which (if any) of the theories I believe about it, but I certainly don’t think it’s a natural thing. Whether people, Mother Nature or the men from Mars are to blame, it’s anyone’s guess…but it gives me a horrible sense of foreboding that I can’t shake.

  3. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 38 (Feb 17-23) | Jingle

  4. ladynimue says:

    I wish i would wake up and say ALL that you said in last lines .. as of i know few of the lines sound like a dream 😉

  5. Iwrite4u says:

    Lovely poem,well written!

    Three questions:
    1.Want your poems to be read by poets all around the world?
    2.Want feedback for your poems?
    3.Want friends who loves and shares poetry?

    If your answer is ‘Yes’ for all the above three questions,then do join us in our Rally at http://thursdaypoetsrallypoetry.blogspot.com/
    We are a team of poeters exploring and learning together !

  6. Silvertongue says:

    Thought provoking and well written. Such is the nature of poetry. Great job!

Leave a Reply

