~ Red Bed Redemption ~

Every month, the moon looses this beast inside.
I’ve obligingly labled her “Mrs. Hyde”.
Midol, chocolate, a heating pad,
Are the best defenses,
When the week is bad.
You can’t cure this kind of ‘crazy’,
It’s true.
For a week full of red,
She sure makes me blue.
“Aunt Flow” is a special kind of bitch,
Who makes men squeamish
And women twitch.
A messy, painful, nuisance, She.
Did I mention the fact
That she’s just plain crazy?
Mood swings, bloating and gut-twisting cramps,
Enough blood to sate the hungriest vamps,
Irrational tears and wild, chaotic outbursts,
The emotional roller-coaster is probably the worst.
I tell you, these awful, monthly menses,
Equally offend ALL a person’s senses.
Women everywhere can and will relate…
It’s a cross we bear, and openly hate.

Men, please try to understand:
We’ll be back to normal, when we can.
Your condescension feeds Mrs. Hyde,
It makes her meaner and wounds her pride.
“Are you PMSing?” is a red flag to the bull,
“Are you okay?” makes you less of a fool.
Remember: chocolate’s ambrosia – food of Goddesses.
It soothes savage beasts of PMS-es.
Love and kindness, and patience too,
Will tame the hellion and wonders do.

Now if you’ll excuse me, Mrs. Hyde’s here again.
Midol? Check.
Chocolate? Check, check.
Heating pad? Yep.
*Sigh and half-smile*
At least the doctor is in.

🙂

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2011

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to ~ Red Bed Redemption ~

  1. Remember those days and not with glee … Hang tough … just five days …

  2. eebrinker says:

    agree on the chocolate! ……… one thing have thought on of late: whenever you have a correlation, such as the moon and menses … often the greater of the two is assumed to be the causal factor. but who says women aren’t the ones controlling the phases of the moon …. hell, time itself! if it were the moon controlling US, one would think all women would go off at the same time ………. *grins*

    i think an open attitude is better … strange the forbidden things that are set aside and not talked-about.

    • dragonkatet says:

      LOL, the world would be in shambles if we all went off at once. Not sure why that seems to be the case with correlation, but I hadn’t thought about it – now that you mention it, it does seem to be true, doesn’t it? An open attitude is definitely better…taboo, forbidden things – eh, most of the time, it’s stupidity as to why they’re “forbidden” as topics of conversation, so I ignore being “PC”. I don’t have time for such nonsense. 😉 Thanks for coming by, E!

  3. Good luck! Spun nicely, described lightly.

  4. Scent of my heart says:

    Oh, that is so familiar, so well described! As Jamie said ..hang in there!

  5. Scent of my heart says:

    Hi, How are you doing?

    I welcome you to week 23 poetry potluck at Jingle Poetry : http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    Always, we treasure your support and would be more than happy to see you share…

    The linkz will be open for submission 8pm, Sunday, American Central…theme related entries or unrelated entries are all welcome!

    Best Regards for your day.

    Week 23 Theme: Our Home, Temple and Sanctum

    xoxox

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Blaga. I’ve really been enjoying reading everyone’s submissions. And, I have already written a piece for the Potluck (being a comic, cartoon and superhero fan). 🙂

  6. Hahahahaha. Awesome. That Aunt Flow IS a special kind of bitch. 🙂

  7. mairmusic says:

    ah, sooo understood. Nice to have a funny verse perspective 🙂

  8. lol, this was fun and oh so true!!!! I sure hope men could understand 😦 We are hormonal, living pre-menstrual, during and post, basically we have one week of down time, come on and they expect us not to be temperamental!!! grrrr lol

  9. bendedspoon says:

    ahaha! So fun to read on the subject that makes me curl in pain! I only use midol but now I have another great excuse for chocolate — thank you!
    🙂

  10. lolamouse says:

    Add migraines to the mix and I’m a total mess! I can’t wait until I’m in menopause! I feel your pain.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Oh ugh! I’ve only had a couple of true migraines in my lifetime, but those were plenty! 😦 I hear ya on the menopausal thing – not wishing my life away, but it sure would be nice to not have to hear from Aunt Flow ever again. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  11. Pingback: Don’t Wear Your Iglasses « bended spoon

Leave a Reply

