~ Epic Every Day ~

Image borrowed from graffitizen.com

Image borrowed from graffitizen.com

Of all the heroes and heroines,

The ones unsung,

Are the ones I like best.

Of all the super-heroes’ skins,

Quiet humility cloaks the best-dressed.


They give the rest of the world a smile,

Those “little people” all over the planet,

Selflessly making our lives worthwhile,

Whose sacrifices we take for granted.


If you can read this,

Thank a teacher.

Free to speak your thoughts?

Thank a soldier.

The “value” of the jobs of each were,

In the minds of each beholder.


My superheroes are the common men,

And women who “practice random acts

Of kindness and senseless beauty”, and,

Whose inner radiance attracts.


This goes out to all of you, who,

Give of yourselves each and every day,

Practice compassion, speak kindly to

Those who need YOU to guide their way.


All of you, who sing and dance with light,

All of you, who speak for the voiceless masses.

All of you, who make the world’s wrongs right,

All you Clark Kents with your taped-up glasses…


You may not wear capes,

Or an “S” on your chest,

But YOU’RE the superheroes that I like best!

You have my thanks,

And admiration, too.

The world is so much better

Because of people like YOU!

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2011

((This is my submission for Jingle’s Poetry Potluck # 24. If you haven’t already, you should check out some of the other submissions! 🙂 ))

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to ~ Epic Every Day ~

  1. bendedspoon says:

    I love this poem and the thought that goes with it! Thank you for reminding us not to forget the everyday real heroes!
    🙂

  2. fiveloaf says:

    encore encore! what a great message inside your poem and also, tq for your vote dragon! here’s my potluck.. http://fiveloaf.wordpress.com/2009/11/29/cinderella-for-a-man/

  3. thingy says:

    What a beautiful tribute to the real heroes.

  4. redroom10 says:

    excellent message, well said 🙂

  5. Scent of my heart says:

    That was so kind of you, I hope we all get to meet more super daily heroes like the one you talk about … The world needs super heroes! Very good contribution to Potluck!

  6. Jingle says:

    smart one…

    we do need fantasy or super heroes.
    Cheers.
    A++

  7. tigerbrite says:

    This is lovely, thank you.

  8. Wonderful and a great sentiment, loved it!

  9. lolamouse says:

    I wholeheartedly agree! Thanks for reminding me and everyone!

  10. “Quiet humility cloaks the best-dressed”
    This poem is a great tribute to the everyday heroes hidden in plain sight.
    Well done.

  11. Olivia says:

    .. and because of people like you too!!
    Very well said. Taken the theme to a completely different tangent and darn neat at that 🙂

    Keep writing such awesome stuff!
    Wishing you a lovely week ahead
    Love xoxox

    http://oliviasmindlymatters.wordpress.com/2011/02/28/virtuality/

  12. bward42 says:

    Such an understated poem! Really sweet and enjoyable!

  13. eebrinker says:

    hey i like this! so true that it comes down to the “extras” in this strange play of life.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Aw, thanks for stopping by, E! 🙂 Definitely the ‘extras’ that make the play so enjoyable – the people ‘behind the scenes’ make all the magic onstage happen.

  14. cloakedmonk says:

    What a beautiful poem full of wisdom, grace, and beauty.

    Shalom.

  15. Kavita says:

    Aww.. and I thank YOU for this amazingly positive poem, my friend… and for making me feel GREAT about myself…

    Such a beautiful ode to each of those persons that make our lives worthwhile… REALLY SWEET!!

  16. Luke Prater says:

    epic indeed! Nice write Dragon

    Regards

    Luke @ WordSalad

  17. What wonderful sentiments gathered here. Nicely wrought and well considered. I love it.

  18. good people make a world difference.
    what a treat to see you recognize those.

    love your entry.

    🙂

  19. AWESOME!!!!!!! I completely agree that the unsung heroes are the best! So important for improving the world. 🙂 I especially loved the rhyme and powerful message of this stanza…

    All of you, who sing and dance with light,
    All of you, who speak for the voiceless masses.
    All of you, who make the world’s wrongs right,
    All you Clark Kents with your taped-up glasses…

    • dragonkatet says:

      Aw, thanks for the kind words, Rhyme. 🙂 I kind of liked the line about Clark Kent, myself. I can picture him in my head and those black glasses taped on the sides…it really is the “little people” who make the world go ’round!

  20. kolembo says:

    Oh say it, why don’t you! An excellent poem, enjoyed reading it immensely! That third stanza…

Leave a Reply

