~ A View of the Vernal ~

image borrowed from Google images

Spring beckons all the green things awake,

With soft sunshine and breathy gusts,

It blows life into bloom,

Fills the whole world’s room,

With new growth and buds,

That burst and bust!

Spring’s ranging, changing give and take,

Fills forests and fields with fairy dusts,

Blades of bright green,

The wind’s billowing keen,

And pollen’s featherless flight,

Fills the plants with lusts!

Bees will soon be back to build,

Another generation of reasons to stop,

And smell such scents,

So sweetly filled,

To the brim of each velvety, rainbowed cup.

Come, Spring, and lay the cold to rest!

Fill each heart with songs and light!

Quicken blood and release your flood,

To smooth away dark Winter’s night.

So much to do and so few hours,

Like a squirrel with a caffeine buzz,

Still, Spring has subtle, simple powers…

Like rain,

And flowers,

And baby animal fuzz.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2009

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ~ A View of the Vernal ~

  1. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award « Broken Sparkles

  2. Bodhirose says:

    I love your view of the vernal. Spring is my favorite time of year and you have described it so beautifully here. It made me feel so good to read this–thank you.

  3. eebrinker says:

    makes me think of the differences, from growing up in california where we didn’t really have much in the way of seasons at all. mostly ranged from foggy-to-not-foggy. and maybe results in a different perception of time. i don’t “see” spring coming along as a change — even now where living with the seasons. it’s more like a sigh of ups and downs 🙂

    even so, i like the ideas of new starts and rejuvenation — how beauty and time can be fleeting. great structure with subtle rhyming, and way cool picture!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E! It’s funny…I lived in Seattle for awhile, and I missed all the differences in the deciduous trees that we have down here in the South. There was green (all the evergreens) but it wasn’t the same. I decided I liked having four distinct seasons to enjoy. I never thought about how it could influence the perception of time, but I can see how it might. yeah, I agree about new starts – I need all those I can get. lol 🙂

  4. apt reflections.

    love the imagery of flowers, rin, spring…

    keep it up.

    Welcome joining poets rally week 40,
    all submissions will be fully represented by the end of the week,
    visit me for details today.. hope to see you in..

    Cheers.
    Happy Writing..
    xx

Leave a Reply

