~ Bait and Switch ~

A future with kids was the offered bait.
Three years gone;
Time wasted. Again.
Was told I could trust him,
I just had to wait…
Today got the bomb.

I’m so tired of men.

They consistently tell you what you want to hear.
Then “change their minds”,
And insist they never lied.
But they don’t have a biological clock to fear.
In their immaturity one finds,

All their acts are ‘justified’.

Always promises that are never kept.
The bitter pill,
Of being ‘baited and switched’.
And all these pain-filled tears I’ve wept,
Make it easier, next time,

To be a stone-cold bitch.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2011

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ~ Bait and Switch ~

  1. The bitter pill,
    Of being ‘baited and switched’.
    And all these pain-filled tears I’ve wept,
    Make it easier, next time,

    To be a stone-cold bitch.

    These few lines I can relate to so much today! So even sad I like them, sometimes you need to be a stone-cold person to fix things!

    Thank you so much for stopping by my new place! It means a lot!

  2. Bodhirose says:

    Oh, that’s rough. I can feel the bitter pain and anger–so sorry.

  3. eebrinker says:

    yea, no kidding … mostly at this point am considering an actuality of the mars/venus theories. as in men and women really ARE different species. they say they ‘love’ you and then proceed to prove that they have no concept of what love MEANS. i would settle for one tenth of my vision — and every male to date cannot match even that.

    hang in there … if there is ONE decent fella out there … i’m hoping you find him before i do. *smiles*

  4. Men are horrible, not much better than… hey, wait a minute….

    Sorry, got caught up in the moment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

