The truth about TAPS…

I had never heard the story about the truth about the song TAPS, which is played at funerals for soldiers here in America. My grandfather served in two wars and went on to continue to serve when he retired from the military by becoming a well-respected judge. He sent me the following in an e-mail, and it moved me enough that I wanted to share with all of you, in case you didn’t know the story behind TAPS, either. Enjoy!

 

UNBELIEVABLY BRILLIANT

The conductor of the orchestra is Andre Rieu from Holland . The young lady, her trumpet and her rendition of TAPS makes your hair stand on end. Many of you may never have heard taps played in its entirety, for all of the men & women that have died for you to have the freedom you have in America . This is an opportunity you won’t want to miss and I guarantee you’ll never forget.

Amazingly beautiful .. Melissa Venema, age 13, is the trumpet soloist.

Here is Taps played in its entirety. The original version of Taps was called “Last Post”, and was written by Daniel Butterfield in 1801. It was rather lengthy and formal, as you will hear in this clip, so in 1862 it was shortened to 24 notes and re-named Taps. Melissa Venema is playing it on a trumpet whereby the original was played on a bugle.

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The truth about TAPS…

  1. That was really great of you to share with us, the music indeed is very touching! The little girl is brilliant!

  2. eebrinker says:

    hey, inspired a new poem …. on art and continuance. thanks! she’s beautiful …..

  3. tigerbrite says:

    Beautiful piece.
    Taps in UK used to be played by servicemen every evening when the Union Flag was lowered.

  4. Jamie Dedes says:

    Stunning! Stunning! I grew up adjacent to Fort Hamilton in Brooklyn and often heard taps in the air. I also had an uncle who played the bugle and taught Fife and Drum corp. This brings back so many, many memories. Much gratitude to you and grandfather.

    P.S.: I adore Rieu.

    • dragonkatet says:

      😀 Thanks, Jamie, I’m so glad you liked it! With connections like that, I can imagine how it must have stirred memories, for sure! I am ashamed to admit I did not know of Rieu before seeing this, but wow, what a character!

  5. Gary says:

    How Beautiful….
    I had no knowledge of the history behind the short tune played at my father’s funeral.
    The short tune brought a well of tears when I heard it played on the grassy knoll of Oak Hill Cemetery October 17, 2009.
    I had to stand at attention and wipe a few tears when I heard this new discovery!

  6. dragonkatet says:

    Thank you, Gary. Like you, I had no idea until seeing this, that the history of the piece was so much more than people know. I am sorry for your loss but glad that I could share something which touched your life in such a special way.

Leave a Reply

