~ Kudzu Dragon ~

Green Man Dragon by Ed Beard, Jr.

Earthen Guardian,
growing green with leafy teeth
and limbs between.
Your bones,
a dying tree beneath
a scaly skin—cascading leaves.
Vines that sway
like Dragon’s beard.
Hollow eyes that speak –
Fey enchanted weird.
Beast of Time
and Tangled Root,
awakened by
a satyr’s flute.
Watching many,
yet seen by few,
with ruffled ears
that catch the dew.
Windblown tops
and butterflies.
With tendrils climbing
to the skies.
Magical creature of elven goodbyes
you have been left
to guard the Land…

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2004

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to ~ Kudzu Dragon ~

  1. tigerbrite says:

    Oh excellent. I just love dragons, elementals and mythical creatures 😉

  2. Jingle says:

    happy to see you in…

    vivid imagery on the dragon beast…smiles.

    Happy Rally.
    😉

  3. mypastmademe says:

    Such different subject matter! I enjoyed reading this, thank you. My fave part: ‘Earthen Guardian, growing green with leafy teeth’ 🙂

  4. torquethis says:

    Love it. I too am fond of dragons (and we have our share of kudzu here in the south). Nice job.

  5. seabell says:

    Talk of images… You are the master! I personally like this one: “Beast of Time/and Tangled Root,/awakened by/a satyr’s flute.” Sounds great and is very powerful!

  6. tasithoughts says:

    I love this! Great work!

    JP

  7. lolamouse says:

    Ooh, I love this! You set a great mythical mood with this one.

  8. Dragons enchanting guardians! What a lovely idea!

  9. Jamie Dedes says:

    This is such a treat. Your poems create fantasies as alluring as your pictures and dragons always appeal, have a special charm. Wonderful! Thank you.

  10. eebrinker says:

    “Windblown tops
    and butterflies.
    With tendrils climbing
    to the skies.”

    perfect

  11. Stafford says:

    It is amazing what the imagination can create to fill a space… like a dragon guarding the land and beautifully expressed.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thank you for coming by! Yes, imagination hates a void, doesn’t it? In my case, it’s probably a case of pareidolia (seeing images in things like clouds, wood grains, etc.) but I much prefer to think there was an *actual* kudzu dragon watching me watch him! 😉

  12. First, that is an AWESOME drawing! (Well done Ed.) I like that there is a gremlin-like face hiding in the dragon’s beard. 🙂

    Second… your words go with the photo SO WELL. He certainly is a “Beast of Time
    and Tangled Root awakened by a satyr’s flute”… then again, perhaps it was your lovely words that awoke him! 🙂

    Thanks so much for your super fun comments you left on my blog. Greenzilla sends her love. 🙂

  13. Such a magical write…love how it draws me in such an engaging way.

  14. dragonkatet says:

    🙂 Thank you, David! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  15. lunawitch15 says:

    You have a knack for showing people the magical.
    this was amazing!

    luna

  16. dragonkatet says:

    😀 Thanks! it’s not me, really – the magic is in all of us. I’m glad you liked it, though!

  17. Vinay says:

    I like dragons! Reminds me of Harry Potter 4 a lot 😀 Your poetry was beautiful, Ka-tet!

    Rally Week 41 – My Poetry

  18. Jack Edwards says:

    Brilliantly vivid poem.

  19. Pingback: Outstanding Poet of National Poetry Month in 2011 Award Nominations | Promising Poets' Poetry Cafe

  20. Gary says:

    Simply Awesome!

    Your writing calls to my minds eye…
    the orbs leaping from word to word.
    The “Kudzu Dragon” all consuming…
    following cracks and crevasses.
    Climbing, coiling, gripping with might…
    it can swallow you whole, in one single night!

  21. claudia says:

    such a charming description…love the leafy teeth and ruffled ears
    that catch the dew… what a fascinating, magical creature…

  22. dragonkatet says:

    😀 Thank you, claudia! It was magical enough and enough of a presence there that I felt compelled to write about it, so I like to think that the beast was real but perhaps *just* beyond normal perception. Thanks so much for coming by!

  23. really very cool. Love the rhythm throughout, the illustration you paint with your words, which, btw, I have to say love your choice of wording. Great write. thanks for sharing

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks much, hobgoblin! Yours was the perfect prompt to persuade me to participate. 😉 Thanks for taking the time to come read and comment, and for the follow, too!

  24. Wonderful poem! The rhythm and rhyme are excellent, and the story is very well told. Nice!
    P.S. Yours is the first blog I’ve noticed where misspelled words are highlighted in the comment box. Are using the premium, or is there a setting I’m unaware of?

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thank you, Charles. I don’t use a ‘premium’ blog, so I looked to see what might be different about my blog that enables it to spell check comments and could only think of two things it might be: 1) I use a spam filter called Akismet (you sign up and they give you a key which you enter on your blog and it blocks spam comments) or 2) the ‘theme’ I am using, which is Twenty-Ten. I did some research and found that there is also a plug-in (which I do not have) available which spell checks comments in WordPress, called After the Deadline. Hope this helps! Thank you again for taking the time to read and comment.

  25. brian miller says:

    very cool poem…the rhythm is as enchanting as the subject…i am rather fond of dragons personally…the thought of an earth dragon is pretty cool as well…i like…

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thanks, Brian. As you can no doubt tell, I love dragons of all sorts. I like to think that they come in all shapes, sizes and types…much like those who see or imagine them. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment.

Leave a Reply

