~ Falling Asleep With Felines ~

Kitty YinYang: My guys, Max and Cleo

I fell asleep with both cats last night,
small stoves of the softest fur.
They laid next to me,
curled against my warmth,
peace resonating with each purr.
I fell asleep to the gentle white noise,
of purest feline bliss.
Their soft paws kneading
against my skin,
their noses to give me a kiss.
I’m accepted in their pride of two,
just a “larger cat” to them.
They seem to somehow know,
when I am feeling down,
and comfort me the best they can.
I hold them close and snuggle tight,
finding peace in their feline grace.
The frown slowly melts away
from my troubled brow,
and I fall asleep, a small smile on my face.
~ C.L.R. ~

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to ~ Falling Asleep With Felines ~

  1. eebrinker says:

    awwwwwwwwwwww….. cat’s are the best. max and cleo look so content and happy. “kitty yin yang” cool 🙂

    the purring is what usually wakes me up. lol …. when i first got jazz, if she tried to jump on me or wake me somehow — we played the game “kitty-catapult” ….. so she learned to stay an arms-length away and purr really loud to wake me up. now she does it while rubbing me with her nose, so i guess i’m a little less testy on the waking-issue. or maybe she’s been training me.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E. lol, yes, Jazz has definitely been training you! 😉 I swear they can tell time with some internal clock or something (I think it’s called a “stomach”…lol)!

  2. Gary says:

    I’ve never been a kitty fan, although they’ve beauty indeed…
    I did just once, take a pair to love, kittens that loved to kneed.
    One black as coal, another dappled in browns…
    always managing to turn my frowns.
    They live outside, prancing in play, just roaming wild and free…
    They greeted guest and mailmen too, from high up in a tree.
    They faded one day, like the famed Ghost Cat…
    I lost my little friends, sad it was, and that was the end of that.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Awww…thanks for the wonderful, poetic comment, Gary. I wish it would have had a happier ending, but I’m smiling that you took the time to read my stuff and compose that! 🙂

  3. So sweet, I never had a cat, but I bet it’s a huge delight the company of one, calming and caring!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thank you so much for coming by, Blaga! As cliché as it sounds, I really do think that there are “cat people” and “dog people” in the world, and they each have a very different and distinct way of approaching life. I’m definitely of the former sort, although I have two (rather large) dogs, too. But there is *nothing* like the sense of peace and being able to snuggle with a purring cat!

  4. Great picture of Max and Cleo, and wonderful poem accompaniment! 🙂

    My two cats sleep with me, and we’ve all settled into a routine that works for the three of us. We’re all purring as darkness settles and eyes close. I think we even stretch at the same times during the night.

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thanks much, Captain! Mine sleep with me, too. Both are approaching 18 years of age and appreciate the warmth, I’m sure. Cleo (oof) likes to lay ON me. Twelve pounds of cat can get quite heavy on one’s chest or stomach…and don’t think he doesn’t know it and use it to his advantage! Do yours wake the food-vending machine at the same time each day, too?

  5. booguloo says:

    Cats are the best. Wish I could have one where I’m living right now.

  6. Love it love it ..sooo much! Cats make the bast companions.We had six when I was a kid, and I still dream that I am cuddled up with them.Fiercely missing all the cats I ever had so much after reading and seeing this. Food vending machine lol- you are absolutely correct. Could never have a late lie-in even on weekends cos they would be meowing away for their morning cuppa milk!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Aw, maybe you can get another one (or 6!) soon. Yes, they are punctual, to say the least…know what you mean about not being able to sleep in! Thanks for coming by and leaving such a nice comment. 🙂

  7. lolamouse says:

    I sleep with my 2 dogs (3 if you count my husband!) My poodle loves to sleep on the pillow right above (or on) my head! And my maltese snores!

  8. You all obviously have the wrong cats. 🙂 My two wake up when my alarm goes off at 5:00AM to get ready for work, then move in for the kill before closing their eyes again for a quick catnap, knowing I’m going to lie there for another 10 minutes or so. When I finally rub my eyes and stretch, that’s their signal to snuggle close for their pre-bed departure affection and rubdown. If it’s the weekend, they’ll sleep till I get up, regardless the time, but once again, hang out close until I rub my eyes and stretch. They work with my schedule, thankfully. 🙂

Leave a Reply

