Outrageous! BP gets a $13 BILLION tax write off?!

image borrowed from fugly.com

I have blogged in the past about the BP Gulf Oil spill and I still consider it heinous that so much damage was done and yet, BP has faced very few repercussions for their actions/reactions. Now they’re getting a $13 BILLION tax write-off by “writing off their losses incurred from the tragedy”. I am furious. There is so little that we ‘regular Joes’ can do about this, and yet I will continue to boycott BP gasoline, and spread the word about them as often and as many places as I can.  I also just signed another petition.  For those of you interested, here are some links to check out. Follow the money trails…agendas become quite clear when you do.

Thanks to Credo Action network for their continuing diligence on this matter.

* Sign the petition telling BP to pay their fair share of taxes.

1. “BP To Cut Tax Bill By $13B But Won’t Say What It’s Paying IRS For 2010,” Talking Points Memo, April 20, 2011
2. “BP Scores $10B Tax Credit by Offsetting Cash,” CBS News, July 27, 2010
3. “Gulf-Spill Fund Pays $3.8 Billion; Total May Be ‘Higher’,” Bloomberg, April 18, 2011
4. “Goldman Waives Tax Deduction on SEC Settlement,” Bloomberg, July 16, 2010
5. “A year after spill, BP gives political contributions to GOP leaders,” The Hill, April 19, 2011
6. “A Year After Gulf Tragedy, Offshore Oil Companies Still Shielded by Liability Limits,” ProPublica, April 19, 2011

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Life, Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Outrageous! BP gets a $13 BILLION tax write off?!

  1. Thanks for the info. I shall pass it on 😦
    Money talks dear, money talks sadly enough..

  2. dragonkatet says:

    Thanks for helping to spread the word. You’re so right about money…:-/

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    The whole thing is galling. Thanks for posting this.

  4. eebrinker says:

    dang that figures. i looked up the sources of candle-making today. realized i didn’t really know much on what was used. turns out that’s what caused the “invention” of oil-refining. when these chemists were looking for other substances to make candles. before electricity, candles were a big production item. and was strange how the history on that shows some correlations to major political shifts. in other words …. it’s all about the fuel. always has-been in some way or another.

    don’t know on the taxes — it’s the tax-code with the loop holes that’s the problem. the big players lobby enough to keep the loop holes in place. and more and more of the tax burden shifts down the slope to the lower-income brackets. i THINK more politicians are trying to be honest — but those w/ their own agendas sort of sour the whole pot. BP is too big to fail, apparently.

    btw …. did you know that shell oil, started as part of candle-making? it’s kind of a trip how all ties together. and the candle-makers used whale oil and blubber a lot ….

    drilling …… that’s like a whole different ball of wax. and there was something i saw recently on a type of drilling that goes way too deep …….. like could be the cause of the earth quakes and problems that go a bit beyond hunting whales to extinction.

    sorry to chew your ear ………. hope you had a wonderful easter holiday 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Hey, thanks, E. No worries about ear chewing – I don’t mind. Thanks for the info. about the whole candle-making thing. I had no idea! I know that oil is used for plastics and so many other things that it seems like it will be impossible to get away from using it entirely. I completely think the stuff about drilling too deeply being a cause of the earthquakes and such is not only possible, but highly likely! I mean, when you look at plate tectonics and the science of it, oil is one of the lubricants of the earth. It makes total sense to me! Thanks for coming by and teaching me something new!

  5. lolamouse says:

    This is just appalling! But I’m not at all surprised. Doesn’t really matter who’s in office, money runs the country. I signed the petition and retweeted it.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks so much, lola! The way I see it, the more people who are aware and get mad, the better. No, unfortunately, it’s not all that surprising, but it sure does make me angry. 😡

  6. Thanks for posting it, it was good to be informed on this.

Leave a Reply

