~ Mind In The Mountains, But Chained Here By Chance ~

image borrowed from okiegrl.wordpress.com

Standing amidst those towering white pines,
Hearing the wind as it whispered my name,
Watching hawks, as they spiraled and on thermals climbed,
A voice deep inside me broke free and became
One, with those faces of sheer, solid stone.
Those bones of the earth, silent giants of past
Ages untold, they kept calling me home.
The scent of old forests, and air like glass,
With waterfalls hidden in pockets of rock,
And rich, moist soil that encouraged such growth,
I felt all the sadness inside me unlock,
The stress and the tension…I realized that both
Were nothing compared to mountainous strength.
Those roots of granite and limestone’s range,
Resisted, remained, through time’s pressing length,
Prevailed and stood strong, weathered, wizened by change.
My soul rose to soar, lost in stone and deep wood,
Freed again to follow those steep paths of dreams.
The vibration of the mountains’ song in my blood
Made me miss and re-think what it is my life means.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2008

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Nature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to ~ Mind In The Mountains, But Chained Here By Chance ~

  1. Excellent post! I enjoyed reading it very much.

    Poetry will never loose it’s touch even as we enter this digital age. Thanks for sharing.

    A Poem for Mothers

  2. The vibration of the mountains’ song in my blood … I liked that …
    I’ve never thought that the mountain can sing and the notes to vibrate, maybe because I am a sea person/ despite the fact that I was born in a mountain area/, but with your words, this sounds enchanting and intriguing. I almost wish I was near a mountain right now to try and hear if there really is a song! Lovely …

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Blaga. It’s hard to explain…but I think there is a voice that speaks to all of us, when we are still and out in the middle of nature. Maybe it’s God, or the Universe, or simply the voice of Nature, Herself. The wind, the sound of the waterfalls over rocks, the creaking of the trees, all come together to form a song. All one has to do is listen. 🙂 It’s not the same rhythmic, soothing song of the ocean (which I have heard and love, too), but comparing the two is like apples and oranges – they are two different, yet magnificent examples of the wonders of this beautiful planet!

  3. Gary says:

    Truly awesome!

    I read and then stare, hopelessly enthralled by the beautiful image.

    And then I read again, the piece seems to have an affectionate touch of sensuality to it.

    • dragonkatet says:

      😀 Thank you, Gary. You’ve got me thinking about mountains lately, so this is your fault. lol I looked and looked through all of my personal images, but none seemed to capture the right “feel” if that makes sense, so I turned to Google and came across this one. As for sensuality…that’s probably true. I feel comfortable enough to dance naked under the moon in the woods, and truly be ‘at one’ with nature.

      • Gary says:

        I’m happy to hear that your renewed interest in the mountains was triggered by something I have written.
        I have to also say that I’ve danced to that same wild mountain tune more times than I can count.
        I’ll be tastefully writing about that very soon!

        Oh and if you don’t mind, I’m adding you to my BlogRoll.
        What you write, links very well with my own!

      • dragonkatet says:

        Can’t wait to see what you write next! 🙂 I don’t mind a bit about the Blogroll. I used to have an account there – I should check and see if it’s still active, and how to add a link to it here.

  4. dswan2 says:

    Enjoyed your description of meditation in nature. There is in the spirit of man a longing for immortality and only the stone comes close.

  5. dswan2 says:

    Are you the creator of these magnificant images?

  6. dragonkatet says:

    Thank you, no, I am not. If you mouse over each one, it should credit the creators of each. I do draw and create, but my work is not nearly as breath-taking as the images I collect. 🙂

  7. eebrinker says:

    lovely.

    schooled rhythm … visualization and emotion/reaction. time does press. most importantly, know what you mean: nice when that comes with such detailed and perfected work.

    E.

    ps: i don’t think it’s so much that we are ‘small’ … but that our worries, are. 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      I’m really glad you liked it and that you understand the feeling behind it. 🙂 Thanks for the p.s. reminder – they (worries) really do pale in comparison to the vastness of the universe…always ask yourself if it will matter in 100 years, and it puts it into perspective.

  8. david waters says:

    a truly magical write…brilliant

  9. Jamie Dedes says:

    Lovely! A mystical delight. Poem on …

  10. OptyMyst says:

    There is a handful of you poets who I have found on Pirate John’s page (including him, too) who absolutely take my breath away. Thank you.

  11. dragonkatet says:

    Oh! No, thank YOU for coming by and leaving such a nice comment! 😀 You’ve made my night!

Leave a Reply

