~ Purple Crocus ~

A little, purple crocus,
Was the first sign of spring, for me.
It poked its head up through the ground
And waited for me to see.
It knew purple was my favorite color,
And just wanted me to know,
It was sweet, like me,
And gave me a smile
When I was feeling low.
Bright orange, fuzzy stamens
Cupped inside the velvet flower,
Whispered that all was not lost,
That I was alive another hour
So I’d better make the most of it
Before the sun had flown.
To think a little, purple flower,
Could remind me

Of this simple truth,
I’ve known.
~ C.L.R. ~ © 2007

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Nature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to ~ Purple Crocus ~

  1. Beautiful picture and poem =)

  2. Oh, the image … If anyone didn’t like purple here is where everyone will fall in love with it! Little purple crocus, hopeful and lovely transferred into words!

    • dragonkatet says:

      😀 Thanks again, Blaga! I was looking for “just the right picture” and caught my breath when I saw this one – that’s when I knew I’d found it. Yes, a little flower is all it takes, sometimes, to lighten the heart with hope.

  3. tigerbrite says:

    This is truly lovely poem and your images are just wonderful. The little dusting of saffron is the icing on the cake.

  4. what a pretty and charming depiction!!! Nature indeed does that to us, it can show us, teach us so much if we only can see. You are one whose heart is open, thus it will always show you great things 🙂 thanks for the visit!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thank you, L! 🙂 I’m glad you stopped by, too. It’s not easy to keep an open heart, but I think that the more one tries to keep it open to the universe, the louder the universe’s song becomes.

  5. Luke Prater says:

    beautiful ode to the crocus. You do have a thing for purple, huh?

    Good stuff C

    Luke

  6. eebrinker says:

    awwwwwwwwwwwww….. yea, time is fleeting. far as spring goes, figure there are many a “purple thing” poking itself out! i couldn’t resist … forgive me. *smiles* this and the poem before remind me of the reason for poetry — the enjoyment of the written word for its beauty sculpted.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Aw, thanks for such kind words! So many good reasons to enjoy poetry, but you’ve definitely hit on one of the most important to me. 🙂 Did you get my e-mail? Thanks for coming by!!

  7. cloakedmonk says:

    Both picture and poem are lovely. Spring should be sprung from our hearts eternally making the best of our seasons.

  8. bendedspoon says:

    Lovely poem! Now I know why there’s a purple dragon in here 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Hey, thanks, spoon! lol, well, if you put two of my favorite things together, it’s likely they’ll both end up someplace close to my heart. Thanks for coming by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

