~ The Stones Remember ~

For JinglePoetry’s Week 35 Potluck, (Theme: Fortresses, Castles, Palaces and Royal Houses) here’s my entry.

*********

Image borrowed from Google Images

                          ~ The Stones Remember ~

Far within these cold, stone walls,

lies the spirit of the Keep.

Mortar mixed with blood and sweat,

the foundations buried deep.

        The stones remember battles fought

        and won, and kings on noble steeds.

        They also recall Dark Ages past,

        filled with both great and awful deeds.

Wild grass grows now between the ruins–

the crumbled, tumbled rocks.

Guarded by ghosts and memories,

there is no need for locks.

        The once mighty walls have fallen low,

        relenting to the hand of Time.

        The wind mourns through the jagged

        cracks, that only the insects find.

A sense of ancient ways surrounds

the ramparts, tall and steep.

The codes and credos still reside

with the spirit of the Keep.

        It still has strength of purpose,

        though now, it is only a shell.

        The craftsmen who built this ode

        to defense, made sure they built it well!

Though crumbling from years of disuse and age,

though empty, forgotten, it stands,

the stones remember all

who have passed this way,

and felt their strength with soft hands.

        When worn to dust this place will be,

        when the sun is only an ember,

        when shadows abound on empty ground,

        the stones will still remember…

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2003

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Nature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to ~ The Stones Remember ~

  1. You get my vote, this is the winner in my eyes. (and that’s all that counts, right? 🙂 )

    • dragonkatet says:

      Hehe, thanks very much, Captain! Honestly, winning isn’t why I do it. Awards are great, but I much prefer the sharing and camaraderie of the poetry community. But yes, your vote is important! 😀

  2. “the stones remember all
    who have passed this way,
    and felt their strength with soft hands” so lovely ! This is the best poem I have read all day. You write beautifully and with great rhythm and flow.

  3. honeyhaiku says:

    These stone indeed have seen it all, the silent secret keepers of history. Lovely piece.

  4. An air of gothicism, darkness, mystery 🙂 Nice!
    Thanks and good job!

    Enjoy the potluck!

    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/05/12/within-the-margins/

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, L! 🙂 I still have bunches of posts to get to, but this theme touched on one of my favorite things. I’ve already seen some really good potluck pieces! I’m positive yours won’t disappoint.

  5. What a stunning journey back in time. I believe buildings hold so many secrets, have so many stories to tell. These ancient structures especially. You’ve crafted this one so well…the flow and rhyme.

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thank you very much! If those stones could talk, I think we’d all be amazed at what they’d tell us. I remember the sense of awe when I visited some of the ruins, castles and cathedrals in Europe. The sense of age was palpable. Thanks for your visit and kind comment!

  6. How very good idea! Even after years, the walls might be not so strong, but the stones, everything is in the stones, and they can tell stories … just the way you saw story through their eyes. It’s in the air they breathe … they’ll remember forever! Brilliant! And I agree with the first commenter, it deserves 1st place!

  7. bendedspoon says:

    the stones hold the mystery…love it so much! 🙂

  8. tigerbrite says:

    Rocks do remember. Splendid poem.

  9. Gary says:

    DK…I’m experiencing one of those WoW moments in reading this piece!
    It’s a feeling that often grips me, as I enjoy a community where awesome writers are found.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Gary. This is one of the few pieces I’ve ever written that actually gave me goosebumps when I read it, so it’s special in that way. It’s wonderful to connect with people like you and share the love of writing (and Life!). 🙂 Thank you for the visit and kind words, my friend!

  10. Bodhirose says:

    Those ancient stones have seen so much… I thoroughly enjoyed this magnificent tale of the stoic, strong stones of a crumbling castle. What a great perspective for the prompt! xoxo

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thank you, Bodhirose. Yes, they really have. Like I said in a comment above, seeing them firsthand on a visit to Europe, was awe-inspiring. You could “feel” the sense of age and it took my breath away to think of everything they have experienced and seen. 🙂 Thanks very much for stopping by!

  11. lolamouse says:

    This is absolutely beautiful! I love the image of stones holding memories. You’ve crafted a lovely and skillful poem!

  12. Jess says:

    a wonderful sentiment and a good thing to remember. the places we stay remember us long after we can remember

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to leave such a nice comment! I do believe that ‘places’ have memories, too! I don’t know how to explain it, but I still believe it.

  13. eebrinker says:

    so true …. was talking with a friend the other day, on how the pueblos in arizona/nevada … are almost haunted. especially the ones way up in the cliffs — and there is this one that’s like a castle in the middle of nowhere.

    looked it up, and called “Lomaki Pueblo” near Flagstaff. would put a pic here if would let me ….

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E! I Googled Lomaki Pueblo and it DOES look like a castle! Found a really neat pic of it here: http://www.astropics.com/wu103255.html

      In fact, most of the pics on that site are REALLY neat if you like stargazing. 🙂
      I can see how those places might feel haunted – do you suppose the ghosts of the past still live there? Or that places (like, the ground itself) can be haunted?

Leave a Reply

