~ Cliché Parade ~

Image from studentnewsdaily.com

Let’s call this piece a Litmus test,
To see which laid plans are truly best.
Like moths to a flame,
A poem by any other name,
Will it draw their fire?
Raise Cain’s red-inked ire?
It should be easy as pie, to stop a slip of the tongue.
Of course, elitists will say that I’m fit to be hung.
It’s not about Love or a broken heart,
Not even close to State of the art.
No roses or souls or teardrops that fall,
Not about writing that’s on (or off) the wall.
No, this piece is written, as pure tongue-in-cheek.
Good Lord willing ‘gainst the rising of the Creek,
It might get a laugh all the way to the bank.
Then again, it’s just as likely to tank.
Some will argue there’s nothing new under the sun,
But my, how time flies, when you’re having such fun!
These phrases seem to be all over the map.
Why CAN’T poets build a better mousetrap?
So, how many phrases have raised the alarms?
How many have you fine readers up in arms?
Are your panties in a bunch, are you blue in the face?
I kind of had a hunch that might be the case.
Ask me no questions, I’ll tell you no lies.
But it’s a challenge to get in a word edgewise.
The cat’s out of the bag and biting this tongue,
At least I’ve been honest as the day is long.
So, this Bud’s for you, all you Grammar Nazis.
There’s poetry and Poetry, like chalk and cheese.

Oh, don’t fret, I’m leaving. I’ll call it a day.
“Everyone’s a critic”, or so They say.
Just please DON’T:

Do anything I wouldn’t do,
Make a fuss,
Look back,
Bite the hand that feeds you,
Hold your breath,
Rock the boat,
Sweat it,
Take any wooden nickels,
Tempt Fate,
Reinvent the wheel,
Count your chickens before they’re hatched,
Look a gift horse in the mouth,
Shoot me, I’m just the messenger…

And last, but not least,
Please don’t
rain too hard on my cliché
Parade.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2011

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to ~ Cliché Parade ~

  1. This was very interesting and engaging to read Corina! I loved your cliche parade!

  2. eebrinker says:

    lol ……… love this! you know it’s hard to come up with ’em when you’re aiming at that — so know a lot of work went into it. the pairings and rhymes had me smiling all the way ….

    • dragonkatet says:

      It *is* hard to do when you’re actually trying to on the spur of the moment. But I’ll admit that I cheated a bit and about halfway through trying to write it I found a cliché A-Z list, which helped tremendously…was that cheating? 😛 Thanks for coming by and I’m glad you liked it.

  3. eebrinker says:

    ps: a communications professor once asked us to take a familiar phrase and “tweak it” — i couldn’t think of a single thing for the assignment. one year later, i’m heating a cup of coffee in the microwave, and it hits me: “a watched microwave never beeps.” *smiles*

    • dragonkatet says:

      Lol isn’t that always the way? The perfect comeback always comes to us long after the moment has passed. A watched microwave, hm? 😀 Awesome – a version for the 21st Century!

  4. I would never take a wooden nickle from a gift horses’ mouth for all the fleas in China.

    Aside from that caveat, it was wonderful. 🙂

  5. Luke Prater says:

    loved it before, love it now, C. Great idea and executed just brilliantly

  6. lolamouse says:

    That was freakin’ brilliant! Love it, love it, LOVE IT!!!

  7. brian miller says:

    haha this is a riot….i wont go where you wont and not be a critic like everyone else…this was fun…a great one to hear performed as well…that would def be a trip…

  8. dragonkatet says:

    🙂 Thanks, Brian. By all means, critique away! I honestly don’t mind and it helps me become a better writer. I know that the meter in this is completely out of whack, but by the time I was done with it, I didn’t have the energy to try and tweak it any more. Yes, as for reading this out loud, it IS fun.

    • brian miller says:

      i agree with you on critique…it does help become a better writer as long as you consider the source…or their intentions…smiles…i would not worry as much with meter with this one…it has good energy and accomplishes what you set out to do i think

      will get to work on that mousetrap now…ha

  9. cloudfactor5 says:

    So much fun here, I’m still chuckling !! I rate it at least a riot-and-a-half !! Really enjoyed the humor in this !! Well Done !!

  10. claudia says:

    ha – this is fun – you had me with the litmus test already from the first line – love the speed and energy

  11. This was a fun read,.. the end in pariticular… great use of idioms.

  12. Kelvin S.M. says:

    …two words: YOU ROCK!!! aww, hats off… what can i say… u nailed my idioms ok… haha… i appreciate so much the easy rhymes… thanks a lot… smiles…

  13. bostonpoetry says:

    Like Claudia said, I like your using litmus test- it really is a nice visual and underused too. This had a good pace and great energy and I found myself wanting to read more at the end. Great job here! -Mike

Leave a Reply

