~ Jam, I Am ~

Image borrowed from adamwaselnuk on Photobucket.com

~ Jam, I am ~

There are times when I feel like
I am jam,
Spread too thinly
On the toast of my life.
Trying to cover
All the uncut corners,
Smoothed over the edges
Of the crust
With a knife.
And in these times
Of feeling thin,
I think again of
Thicker things.
How I wish that I could keep up
With the changes,
Or just be content
With the fare
That Life brings.
My friends are the butter
That help me have substance.
They add to the taste
And make me feel full.
So when I’m spread thin,
Please stay as my friend,
And understand that I can’t
Always ooze for you all.
Jam, I am,
Yep, that’s me.
Thanks for being part
Of my life’s toasted bread.
Though spread thin, I stick
With those friends in my heart,
I could flee,
But I’ll ask for your patience,
Instead.

~ C.L.R. ~ ©

** Thanks to all my friends for “sticking” with me through thick and thin, even when I feel like Jam. **

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to ~ Jam, I Am ~

  1. lolamouse says:

    Love it! And like jam, you’re sweet!

  2. lolamouse says:

    Also…if world domination is your thing, there is an Overlord Award for you at my site!
    http://lolamouse.blogspot.com/2011/05/i-am-your-overlord-in-case-you-forgot.html

    • dragonkatet says:

      OOOOooooo on my way there now! Thanks! 😀 “Narf! What are we gonna do tonight, Brain?” >:) “The same thing we do EVERY night, Pinky! Try and take over the WORLD!”

  3. sweet jam you are Corina, even thin slice of you is enough to brighten a day! Lovely words!

  4. bendedspoon says:

    so clever! jam it! 🙂

  5. You may be in a jam, but be thankful you’re not toast. 🙂

  6. What a fun yet serious metaphor for life! I really liked it. 🙂

  7. poorani says:

    Superb write….AMAZING ONE…..

  8. eebrinker says:

    makes me think of how stephanie plum in the janet evanovich novels … talks of being like a jelly donut. i think if we didn’t spread ourselves thin, we wouldn’t know how big the toast really-is.

    • dragonkatet says:

      You know, I’ve never read those but have had ppl tell me how great they are! You hit the nail on the head though – it’s only through exploration of our boundaries that we come to appreciate how full our lives really are. Thanks for that excellent observation! I had not considered it that way before. 🙂

  9. Jamie Dedes says:

    A sliver of quality means more than a loaf of chaff. So, I’ll take a little bitty gift of you anyday and be happy.

    Darling poem.

  10. booguloo says:

    Being left stuck and alone in a jam(b) hurts and the butter is a good lube to get you out!

  11. dragonkatet says:

    LOL so very true! Thanks for stopping by.

  12. Bodhirose says:

    Oh, this is just the cutest thing. How sad not always being able to “ooze” for someone–we must forgive you! Love the “sweet” jam illustration too–looks like grape! 🙂

Leave a Reply

