~ Lifted ~

When I had wandered far in life,
and felt I had filled this skin from within,
When I had learned to breathe in every moment,
and brought myself back
to remembering again,
When I had wakened from a dreaming existence
and the sense which had found me
Manifested around me,
I discovered that all that time I had walked,
all the time spent wishing
for feather-light wings, had only been preparing me
For all of these things which this fledgling being
at the edge of the nest,
Trying to find courage to take the rest of the test
and plunge
Into the unknown sky of the future,
Had to fall for awhile
before the wind made me sure.

With each heart-beat and down-stroke of strength,
these wings grow stronger
And fuller in length,
with banded fingers splayed ‘gainst a rising sun,
I’ve lived a full life, but it’s only begun.

With the actualization of realization
Comes freedom to glide on the thermals of dreams,
When mind and heart are in tune
with that inner blue moon,
And eclipses exist to sharpen the lines,
If you look for the light, you’ll find your own gift for flight,
And the lift will be right,
And you’ll know what it means.

Fly toward the future with a focused intent,
Let fall from your talons all wasted years spent,
Drop the ballast that you claimed for so long would sustain you,
Remember paths walked,
Long before you ever flew.
And when you finally reach the zenith…

You’ll soar above the world you knew.

~C.L.R. ~ © 2008

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to ~ Lifted ~

  1. siggiofmaine says:

    Thank you, I enjoyed reading your poem. Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. This was wonderful! I found myself in almost every line, and helped me remember the strength and power that life’s lessons afford us. It was all wonderful, but I found myself going back to this line…
    “Let fall from your talons all wasted years spent,” Thank you!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Captain! It’s a lesson I find myself needing to be reminded of, time and again. We can’t change the past, so there’s no use fearing the future because that’s where we’re headed, ready or not. 🙂

  3. It’s a beautiful poem and contains such meaningful ,pellets of wisdom and a strong uplifting feel. By the time ,I reached its end, life had taken on some buoyant qualities.Loved the comparision of the little bird on the nest’s edge ,timid yet wanting to let go and soar… it is a powerful lesson to be brave and let go of false inhibitions and really reach the zenith. Enjoyed it and it is as well written as its beautiful images.

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thanks so much for reading! I’m happy that you enjoyed it and got something out of it. I wanted to post something that would life people up, so I’m glad to see I succeeded!

  4. dragonkatet says:

    er, something that would *lift people up – heh heh still having my 1st cup of morning coffee and not quite awake.

  5. Jamie Dedes says:

    First: the photo is stunning. I have missed your art and visiting your site and others. Busy days and barely keeping up with posting. So glad to be back in the groove – at least for a day or two.

    Poem: Truly engaged me. Found myself spinning in another world. Imagining scenes. Affecting and wise. Thank you!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thank you, Jamie. I know what you mean about being busy! I’m really glad you liked both the picture and poem and that you’re able to find your groove, even if it’s only temporary. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  6. eebrinker says:

    yea … i sure hope-so. beautiful and inspirational in brave honesty and caring — you know, this book am trying to finish by Steve Donaldson has the theme that to remain innocent is to be ineffective. that you have to take that plunge out of the nest, risk being an ass, in order to be effective ….. that it’s more important to do and strive despite every screw-up possible, than to sit in perfection — doing nothing with the blessings of innocence. and i think about what it means to be effective. seem to get so lost in the crowds these days. and then of course, empowerment has to be matched by humility …

  7. dragonkatet says:

    Thanks, E. Hmmm…that really makes me think. Is innocence ineffective? Perhaps. Maybe it takes “knowing” and being just a little cynical in order to know how to best solve a problem. It IS important to be doing – action makes the dreams come to life. But I also think that innocence can be admired simply for its beauty. As for empowerment and humility – yes! But those are so close to oxymorons these days – humbly empowered lol – it is the rare person who can manage it, I think.

  8. eebrinker says:

    lol …. 🙂 that’s true

  9. Bodhirose says:

    Very inspiring to feel hope and courage for facing what may come–very uplifting! Lovely…

  10. Wonderfully uplifting!! May we all find our wings:-)

  11. Jo Bryant says:

    This is stunning – I felt LIFTED as I read it.

Leave a Reply

