~ Spring (Mostly) Favorites ~

((I’ll preface this by saying that it’s impossible to choose just one thing and call it a “favorite” when one rejoices and appreciates all that a season has to offer. That being said, this was written for the first of Broken Sparkles’s “Season Challenge”. In one poem, we had to use our favorite: word, quote, poem, book, song, movie, town, animal, flower, food and image. The first challenge was Spring Favorites. So here is my humble offering.))

~ Spring (Mostly) Favorites ~

In sylvan woods and deepest green glades,
Spring’s legacy unfolds in creeping bloom.
Crocuses peep from beneath dogwood shades,
Waterfalls thunder in a snow-swelled flume.

Robert Herrick’s plea to virginal women:
“Gather ye rosebuds while ye may,
Old Time is still a-flying;
And this same flower that smiles today,
Tomorrow will be dying.”

The Green Man smiles in puckish glee,
As The Mummer’s Dance portrays the fight,
‘Tween Good and Evil, and resurrection that be
At the heart of the matter betwixt dark and light!

As all renewal burst forth in efflorescent rebirth,
I’d take my favorite book to a secluded, woody glen.
And lose myself in Tolkien’s Middle Earth,
Where Elves and Ents became real again.

I recall munching on chocolate hazelnut drops,
While ruby-throated hummingbirds zipped by,
Springtime in rural Kentucky is tops!
With the Pegasus Parade and Derby Pie!

I think of Stand By Me, when I think of Spring.
That movie made a huge impression on me.
It was based on a story by Stephen King,
A novella that was simply titled, “The Body“.

As for a favorite springtime quote,
Robin Williams comes close to describing the truth:
“Spring is nature’s way of saying, “Let’s party!”   
For Spring is the season of celebrating youth!

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2011

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to ~ Spring (Mostly) Favorites ~

  1. Wow, Corina! This is lovely! You made the post in the form of a poem! Absolutely creative and charming! I like that song very much, reading the poem with the sound of it was a delight! I like your favorite in Spring time. My first post of the challenge is scheduled for 2nd of July and I will add a link to your poem in the comment section, so others can read it too! Celebrating youth with you tonight! You made my evening! Thanks a lot!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Oh, I’m so glad you liked it! It really was a challenge to include all those things and still have it come out in a somewhat poetic form. Ever since I heard that song several years ago, it has stuck with me and is definitely a favorite. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed!

  2. siggiofmaine says:

    Thank you for all the visions and sounds of spring.
    ☮ . Siggi in Downeast Maine

  3. Luke Prater says:

    Oh god yes Stand by Me is forever tattooed on my psyche also… interesting and eclectic references here. The R Williams quote is great! Love that. Great piece C x

  4. You did such a good job of including them all seamlessly! I look forward to your summer entry.
    Mine: http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2011/07/02/spring-muse/

  5. Jingle says:

    WHOLESOME POST.

    FAVORITE BOOK? STUNNING PICK.

  6. Gary says:

    WoW Dk,
    I think this was a tasty treat to tease the senses and stir imaginations.
    I first played the song, and as it played I read and reviewed the links provided.
    I really enjoyed this piece!
    I viewed your entry as a type of Interactive Poem Activity.

    Considering your choice of song for this poem, I am wondering of you like Enya as well.
    I have a few Enya CD’s myself.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Hey Gary! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. I’m really glad you liked it. I DO indeed like Enya! I have Watermark and used to have Shepherd Moons, but it got lost in a move somewhere along the way. I like Loreena McKennitt’s style, too. I think both of them appeal to my inner fey. 😉

  7. Jamie Dedes says:

    Completely charming, Corina, and very you! So clever and rather amazing the way you coordinated all into a poem. Kudos to you!

    We all love Lorena, don’t we? This is one of my favorites of hers.

  8. Cherlyn says:

    Wow! This is a really interesting way to interpret the challenge, which is why I love it – everyone comes up with something different. It was very beautifully written too – and I gotta say, Stand By Me is indeed a great movie :).

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thanks. I am loving reading all the different favorites that people have. I’m learning some new things and enjoying re-living others. Yes, that movie really made an impact on me when I was young. Thanks for coming by!

  9. Pingback: Seasons winners « Broken Sparkles

Leave a Reply

