~ Something of Summer ~

((For the second of Broken Sparkles’s “Season Challenge”s, the challenge was Summer. In one post/poem, we had to use our favorite: word, quote, poem, book, song, movie, town, animal, flower, food and image of the season. Summer is my least favorite season, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t things about it that I adore. 🙂 ))

~ Something of Summer ~

Sultry, southern, firefly nights
Have all of the best cadences.
Full of frogs and cacophonous crickets,
The heat lightning sparks,
As the evening commences.

Summertime, they sing,
“And the living is easy”,
But it’s not always, here.
The humidity swells the very air,
And merely stepping outside,
Can make you feel greasy.

Summer vacations are best outside,
But, “What about Bob?” you may well ask.
Oh, he’s doing just great,
In spite of Leo Marvin’s hate.
Murray and Dreyfuss were perfectly cast!

Nothing whispers summer like ice cream’s spell.
Pistachio sweetness, cold sliding down,
As the Mukilteo ferry crossed the Sound,
All the way to Whidbey Island,
And my favorite, remembered summer town.

Sandburg wrote of summer stars,
Thoreau’s “The Maine Woods” spoke true,
Of Nymphaea odorata (sweet water-lily),
Whose white lotus leaves
Both present and protect,
A burning, inner, summer sun…
Alive inside of me. And you.


In summer, you can certainly be yourself.
Let down your locks and hang loose, relax.
Wilde said, “Be yourself; everyone else is already taken.”
An individual invasion,
Of bronzed skin and sand,
And
Sun-worshiping acts.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2011

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Life, Nature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to ~ Something of Summer ~

  1. There is so much to love about your post here. Unique way to connect all the favorite parts of summer in a poem! The best part for me was –

    white lotus leaves
    Both present and protect,
    A burning, inner, summer sun…
    Alive inside of me. And you

    And Wilde’s quote about being yourself is one of my favorite too! Thank you Corina, your participation is truly enjoyed and appreciated!

    • dragonkatet says:

      😀 Thanks, Blaga! Thanks for posting it on your challenge page, too – I meant to do it and then forgot about it. Yes, Wilde is one of the greats. And YES, this has been such a fun challenge, thanks so much for suggesting it. I’m having great fun reading all the other entries.

  2. Jingle says:

    cool summer thoughts.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Jingle! 🙂 I know I’ve been out of the loop for Potluck and Rally for a bit, but I plan to submit something very soon. Thanks for not forgetting about me!

  3. breath taking post.

    Good Evening:

    How divine when you come to poetry potluck,

    Week 43 is free verse week, submit 1 to 3 random poems, enjoy the fun!

    Hope to see you tonight.

    xoxox

  4. eebrinker says:

    awesome………. i LOVE what about Bob …. especially Dreyfuss and his “death therapy” …I laughed all the way through that movie, and then Bob marries his sister! lol …. too rich. and you’re right, that movie sort of showcases the idealism of summer and a will that doesn’t cater to monotony. lots of smiles you gave here …. thanks!

    seem to feel less ‘free’ as get older … but that’s not the summer’s fault 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      lol that is one of my all-time favorite comedy movies! Those two just played perfectly off of each other. I’d heard at one point that there was going to be a second movie (which would have been great!) but I think the project got scrapped somewhere along the way. Ah, I know what you mean about the ‘freedom’ thing – I think it has to do with not having any/many responsibilities as a kid during summer vs. having too many things to do as an adult! Thanks for coming by, E! 🙂 Glad you got some smiles.

  5. Jamie Dedes says:

    I love all the purples and blue … just like a hot August night. So very clever the way you are pulling these together, Corina. A good quote from Wilde. (Are there any bad ones?) And a wonderful lotus. In sort, a rich and most enjoyable quote.

    Enjoy your purple summer.

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thanks, Jamie. Yes, purples and blues do seem to represent summer nights! (Although purple is a favorite color, regardless of the season lol). YES! Wilde is one of the giants, for sure. I’m glad you liked the lotus – I was thinking about the pink American water lily when I wrote it, but then realized that the one in Thoreau’s book is white, so I had to change the wording slightly and find a different image. I’m happy that you enjoyed my offering and I hope you have a fab summer, too! Thanks for stopping by, Jamie. I do so appreciate your visits. 🙂

  6. Luke Prater says:

    Are you an academic? With all the references including hyperlinks it looks a little like you may be. Love the Wilde quote and your ‘individual invasion’

    • dragonkatet says:

      *smile* I work at a university library, if that’s what you mean by an ‘academic’. I’m all in favor of higher learning, so that’s probably why many of the links are factual/academic in nature. I’m definitely a fan of Oscar. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Luke! It’s always nice to see a comment from ya.

  7. Enjoyed every single thing you wrote about here…especially, “What About Bob?” Such a fun summer movie. Your blending of all the components was flawless.

  8. Pingback: Seasons winners « Broken Sparkles

Leave a Reply

