~ Wet ~

The smoothest caress,

of cool, liquid silk,

as I slide into,

slip through,

this other world of purest blue.

Surpassing barriers,

between the building blocks,

of life…

Oxygen and water,

one with the other,

exchange of electrons,

mixing molecules,

osmosis,

exhale…

Each hard thrust,

plunging deeper,

within this weightless miasma,

the tight heat,

inside these muscles,

aching for release,

each satiny stroke,

brings me closer…

Buildup of tension,

slithering snake-like,

core uncoiling,

legs taut and rhythmic,

pulsing motion,

surging, pumping,

exhilaration…

Exploding,

through the surface,

inhale,

and float in the moment,

buoyant,

on wings of water.

I reluctantly emerge,

body dripping,

glistening,

thrumming with energy…

Swimming gets me wet…

© ~ C.L.R. ~ 

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to ~ Wet ~

  1. A cool poem in all sense of the word. Lovely.

  2. OK, I must say, as a Pirate and a poet, and most certainly a man, I love the direction you’ve taken recently. You make passion poetic, yet leave it’s desire free to be the animal it needs to be. Passion is a creature dark and never tamed, though some may wish to tame it still, it is at it’s most profound when free, and left to run its course. I have wrestled this beast many times in this life, yet still I hesitate not, to lay my throat before its jaws, and pray it finds me feast to fill its needs.

    • dragonkatet says:

      *Smile* Welllll…even though everyone loves to talk about sex, it’s not exactly my style to be so open about it. I’m a pretty private person. You’re very kind in your praise, though, and although I can’t say it’s necessarily a “direction” I’m going, I may occasionally post pieces like this just to whet readers’ appetites. 🙂 Maybe. But thank you very much for taking the time to read and comment, Captain! I’m glad you liked it.

  3. Beautifully, tastefully sensual. I relate to your comment to RoughWaterJohn. :0)

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thanks, Victoria! I do think that if a person is going to post things about sexuality, that subtlety cannot be under-rated. So many are brash about it that it seems to be merely a cry for attention. I don’t need or want that kind of attention, but the primal urge is there in all of us. It is wise to allow it to see the light of day sometimes.

  4. expatinCAT says:

    Wonderfully sensual… // Peter.

  5. very creative poem… its a subtle, wild image that makes perfect sense

  6. Luke Prater says:

    oooh I did think you were writing on an entirely different topic there… of course… just title made me look twice.. of course (having this dreadful affliction called ‘being male’). Sensuous and suggestive write Corina, and what a great punchline

    • dragonkatet says:

      *Grin* Thanks, Luke. It’s been interesting to see the differences in responses re: genders. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment! And cheers! For the grand opening at d’Verse!

  7. brian says:

    good lord, i need to go swimming…ha…very nice layering of feeling and sensuousness before the punch line…smiles.

  8. Gay says:

    Sexy, hot, sensual. Don’t get “cool” from this except in the Jazz sense. The form drives the tactile quality of the write. Well done. Thanks, Gay

  9. Bodhirose says:

    Oh, it’s about swimming…uh, of course–I knew that! Very well done–sensuously delicious!

  10. Sheila Moore says:

    swimming? swimming? not! I fell for it and am a bit embarassed at that fact – great write 🙂

  11. Reflections says:

    A truly sensuous piece, splashes of delight… beautifully written.

  12. lori says:

    wow, I need to take a deep breath, swimming or no swimming, lol…well done!

  13. Dulce says:

    WOW what a moment… seen and felt in slow motion. Magnifique!!!

  14. avril yospa says:

    I love that punch line! You probably fooled 99.9% of the readers on here who thought it was about sex…

  15. Claudia says:

    this was a delight to read..hmmmmm

  16. lolamouse says:

    I had to keep reminding myself that this was about swimming! That’s what it was about, right? Very sensual. I needed a dip after reading it!

  17. It didn’t sound like you were talking about swimming. 🙂

  18. Jo Bryant says:

    So much passion in these words – very sensual

  19. Joe Hesch says:

    We’ve got two lanes in the same pool here. However, one interpretation lane could be called All Swim. The other would be Couples Only. The water’s pretty hot, too. Well done!

  20. eebrinker says:

    haha! …. awesome turn on the close. we do have our minds riveted to the gutter no matter what …. apparently. lol … and really wonderful work on the extended-descriptive. enough of a sing-song that it doesn’t become tiresome at all. this is a nice piece.

  21. hmmm the formatting pulled, the words tantalized, the picture excited…great execution!!! 🙂

  22. Starting from the image, up to the last line … well, the reader certainly gets wet from the words and the emotions, only to find out on the end it’s because of the swimming! Nice catch Corina! Very clever, creative, engaging the mind with more than thoughts!

  23. You seem to have sublimated your eros energy well. Wet, indeed! Thanks for the way this one carries you right along…

Leave a Reply

