Winter Favorites

((I didn’t have time this week to compose a poem of my seasonal favorites for the fourth week of Blaga’s Season Challenge, so this is more of a “list” of favorites. I hope you still enjoy it. ๐Ÿ™‚ ))

Favorite Winter wordSolstice. I love the sound of this word as it rolls off the tongue. Not only that, but it’s a reminder that soon the days will be getting longer again and the darkness of winter will eventually fade away.
Favorite Winter quote “Winter is nature’s way of saying, “Up yours.” ~ Robert Byrne. This just makes me laugh because it’s so true! ๐Ÿ˜€



Favorite Winter poemStopping by the woods on a snowy evening by Robert Frost.ย  This is also one of my all-time favorite poems, ever, not just for winter. I love the way Frost wove his words – I find his poetry so lyrical and consider him one of the poetical giants.
Favorite Winter bookThe Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe (1st in the Chronicles of Narnia series) by C.S. Lewis because this is where we first meet the Snow Queen!ย  And in literature, she is one of the most well-known of Winter characters.


Favorite Winter song –ย  “The Rose” by Bette Midler. Many might not think of this as a “winter” song, but there is a line near the end which mentions winter and it’s one of the most powerful lines in the whole song, in my opinion. This song is a terrific metaphor for Love and has a classic appeal that so many people have found beautiful.ย 

Favorite Winter movie – I almost said Fargo, because that’s such a great movie, but there is one I like even more: Never Cry Wolf.ย  If you like wolves at all, you owe it to yourself to see this movie. It’s not for everyone – many might find it boring because it doesn’t have all the flash, special effects and an all-star cast of famous celebrities. But it’s still an incredible flick. It is based on a true story, of “Farley Mowat – a government researcher who studied the wolves in the arctic. One of the best films about man and his relationship to the animals and nature around him. Three subtle themes come through in this film that anyone who has ever spent time alone in the wilderness will note. Solitude, Silence and Melancholy…”


Favorite Winter town – I couldn’t decide on a favorite for this. On the one hand, I’d much rather be on a sunny beach somewhere in the wintertime. On the other hand, snow and ice have their own, special brand of appeal. So since I couldn’t decide, I’m leaving this one blank. ๐Ÿ˜›


Favorite Winter animal –ย  (Surprise, surprise) the wolf. I’ve always been fascinated by wolves, since I was very young.ย  I’m still fascinated by them and they are one of my favorite “causes” to try and help. When I lived in Indiana, I got the unique opportunity to get “up close and personal” with a pack of wolves at a place called Wolf Park. This refuge is a tremendous resource for those who want to learn more about them. Also, here are a couple of videos about some fantastic organizations who fight hard to protect wolves from things like aerial hunting and the gassing of pups in their dens: Never Cry Wolf Rescue and Adoptions and Defenders of Wildlife. If you’re as passionate about these majestic symbols of the wild as I am, please consider donating to help them out! Every little bit helps. ๐Ÿ™‚

Favorite Winter flowerGlory of the snow


Favorite Winter food – Most people think of Chili, but I prefer Chicken Chili Con Queso Dip with tortilla chips! This is perfect for warming a body up in the winter and it makes a fab appetizer for parties! MMMMMMMmmmmmmmmmmmmm!


Favorite Winter image – When I think of Winter, the image that usually jumps to my mind is a snowflake or snow crystal.


This image happens to be a favorite not just because it’s beautiful (although it definitely is that!) but because of the man behind it, who took the photograph.ย  Dr. Masaru Emoto is a Japanese scientist who studied water crystals and the effects of positive and negative thoughts on water. His results are nothing short of astounding, and for those skeptics who think this is “psuedo-science”, when one considers that so much of the human body is composed of water, and thoughts are a form of energy, it makes more sense. After all, the mind has tremendous power to heal the human body, so why would it not have the power to affect simple water molecules?

For those of you interested, Dr. Emoto wrote a book about his studies, called “The Hidden Messages in Water”.

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragonโ€™s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). Itโ€™s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because thatโ€™s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because itโ€™s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. Itโ€™s all about โ€˜connection(s)โ€™ and I donโ€™t mean โ€œnet-workingโ€ with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 Lโ€™s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Inspiration, Life, Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Winter Favorites

  1. Bodhirose says:

    I’m so impressed with the choices you came up with–and you were pressed for time? My goodness! Good work here.

  2. Corina, even without a poem, I very much like your list! The glory of the snow especially, since we both chose the same :)! The explanation to the image you like was very interesting and R. Frost- always a delight to read him! A fine collection of gems! I’m happy to see you and this week part of my challenge! Much appreciated! Thanks!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thank you, Blaga. ๐Ÿ™‚ I have really enjoyed the challenges! Next week’s will be the toughest, I am sure. Thanks for proposing it and pulling it all together for us.

  3. eebrinker says:

    that is quite a list –i always thought it was sad how they would get so many wolves (or maybe it was coyotes) that the ranchers would nail the shot bodies to their fence posts as warnings. a picture like that kind of haunts-you, guess it was 10 or 15 years ago. don’t know if they still do that or not.

    i think it’s easiest to think kind things about winter at the height of summer …. hehe. mostly could do without the unchanging white landscape. if only snow were the colors of flowers and sky .. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E. I think they DO still do such things, although it twists my guts to think about the horrible practice.

      You are so right about how it’s easy to think nicely about winter when you’re not smack dab in the middle of it…lol. Snow the colors of flowers and sky! I LOVE that idea! I bet that would make a neat art piece…hmmm…

  4. Wait, you mean you’re not going to trick me again, by writing something that’s completely different from where my Pirate mind wants to take it? ๐Ÿ™‚

    If that’s the case, then bravo, I love your choices. Although….. of the four seasons, winter would be in 5th place in my book. I hate to think of how harsh the weather can be, when it plummets below 75.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Heh heh…well, writers can only direct their readers in so many ways. It’s much more entertaining (to me, anyway) to see where the readers take the things I put out there. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad you enjoyed my list, and having lived in Indiana, Ohio and Washington State during the winter months, I can tell you that snow and ice are only fun the first few times you go sledding down a big hill. After that, I’d much rather be languishing on a pirate ship with 75 degree weather! You have SUCH a hard life, Captain! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜› lol

  5. mish says:

    You have an interesting selection , that’s for sure !
    I love the choice of word , “solstice” has such an aural appeal … the accompanying pic is eerie & beautiful too ! The quote is cheeky … ๐Ÿ™‚
    Like you , I’ve included the spectacular , wintry fantasy world of Narnia … as my movie choice ! I’ve heard of Dr. Emoto ~ would love to check out his book when I have a chance ! Thanks for sharing !

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, mish. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, Narnia just conjures up winter, doesn’t it? As for Dr. Emoto’s book, it is quite thought-provoking, and to me, makes loads of sense. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Corina, I just love your choices…can related to ALL of them and could have picked them myself. I thought of Fargo, too. Have seen that movie so many times. (my hubby’s from ND and went to ND State in Fargo and my relatives all sound like the characters in Fargo). I think you did a great job with this.

    Thanks you for your kind comments on my blog. Victoria

  7. BTW the images from Emoto are so thrilling. First met up with him in the movie “What the Bleep…”

    • dragonkatet says:

      Yes! That is where I first became acquainted with him, too. After seeing him in that movie, I had to find out more about his work – it really is fascinating stuff!

  8. bendedspoon says:

    The list further demonstrates how deep and fascinating you are! Love your choices ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Cherlyn says:

    Sorry for stopping by so late – at least I made it ๐Ÿ™‚ You and I had the same poem for our favourites! Great minds must think alike eh? Great list!

  10. Pingback: Seasons winners « Broken Sparkles

  11. dragonkatet says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ No worries, Cherlyn! I appreciate the visit and know all too well what it’s like to be busy! Yes, indeed, it is a wonderful poem. Thanks for coming by.

  12. Jo Bryant says:

    You two of my own favourites. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe ( oh how I love that movie – all theree of the movies actually), and The Rose. I have always thought of that movie as one of the best ever made. Great choices elsewhere – love the ‘wolf’ as your animal, and the quote – where did you find that? I had never read the poem before but used the link, and it is beautiful. So you I think. So all in all dear lady – I loved this post. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Jo! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad you liked it. Yes, I have to agree that the Narnia movies have not disappointed me. The quote I got from thinkexist.com – a really great site for quotes and other stuff. Thanks so much for the visit and comment!

Leave a Reply

