~ Dead In A Ditch ~

((So, I’ve had a bit of writer’s block lately which might explain my M.I.A. status around these parts lately. They say, “write what you know”, so…this is homage to that ‘writer’s block’. :P))

“It’s 4:00 a.m.
I’m either at home
Or somewhere dead in a ditch,”
I said.
And lately, life’s been
A real son of a bitch,
With this dial-tone
Of a glitch
Inside my crazed head.

The thoughts bounce around
And dribble out in
This ooze,
Of “Where did it go?
Will it ever come back?”

I am not a Muse;

Where did that writer’s knack
Fly to, or sink through
Those layers that make me
More than just some luke-warm,
Simple Hack?

Maybe my muse is dead,
Cold, in a ditch,
In my brain,
In my head?
Waiting for what (?)
To rescue it, or
Breathe life again
Into words I’ve written,
Or attempts you’ve read…

Is there a 9-1-1 for a poet?
Can you Dial-A-Muse
And then — Hold the phone!
Even so, it
Wouldn’t be the same
As that smooth, marble form,
Lying cold, in that ravine,
With blue skin and eyes warm.

I’ll resurrect the body!
And proclaim, “IT’S ALIVE!”
But.
I need an electric current
For the flesh to survive…
Which means I need a jump start
For the heart-beat to revive.
“Three…Two..One. CLEAR!”
Or
“Three…Two..One. CONTACT!”

It’s almost here, I can feel it,
And the fear won’t reveal it,
But the inner spark is still there,
It’s just a stone-cold fact.

It needs to feed —
To fatten on a feast of lived moments.
But more, it needs that warmth,
That my own, loving arms can’t provide;
To open those dazed, glazed eyes
Deep inside…
I wish I could somehow find
The right light switch,
To keep my muse from being defined
As just another statistic…
Off, dead in a ditch.

© ~ C.L.R. ~

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Life, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to ~ Dead In A Ditch ~

  1. eebrinker says:

    so many things in life come down to the right moment. it looks like you had fun with this — and fun can be the one thing that saves our muse from the shores of tedium *smiles* you know, i find that to make an effort … especially in visual art … comes down to the initial push. like once in motion it’s easier to stay in motion.

    E.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E. 🙂 That’s very true about the ‘right moment’. I don’t know about fun – it was reassuring to know that I *could* write, even if it was just about something like writer’s block. And that’s true, too, about “priming the pump” in all creative art fields.

  2. Your Muse can’t be too far off, if you can write something like this when you don’t know what to write. 🙂 I certainly have been missing your posts, so this was a welcome reward, thanks! Saaaay… how ’bout writing something on Dragons? 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks much, Captain! I have been missing reading everyone’s stuff lately. Off to do that next. And it’s nice to know I’m missed by such wonderful people! 😀 That makes my night! Hmmm…something about dragons…*nods* that could be do-able. Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    So glad to see you back – and with a banger of a poem. If this is you on a bad day…

  4. siggiofmaine says:

    I enjoyed this poem…hope you are out of the black hole of thoughts…

    ☮ ♥ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  5. The next time you get a writer’s block, imagine it’s a block of wood and carve it into something beautiful with your imagination. Then you can set it on your desk and use it for inspiration. 🙂

  6. For someone with writer’s block, this one came out pretty well and inspiring! Loved the 9-1-1 for poets line. I doubt your Muse is dead, it’s just they /the Muses/ too need a summer vacation! And now as you see it’s all back refreshed and powerful! Hugs!

  7. Bodhirose says:

    Wowie–you need no 9-1-1 call, Corina–this is fabulous! I wrote a tiny little something on writer’s block the other day but this is very entertaining and fun. I think my muse has been on summer vacation too–like Blaga said there.

    So glad I paid you a visit today. Hugs…

  8. dragonkatet says:

    😀 Thanks so much, G! I plan to catch up on all my blog reading tomorrow night, so will be sure to visit yours. 🙂 *Hugs* back atcha

  9. Jamie Dedes says:

    Ahhhh, the muse is never dead. Just resting her eyes for a bit and regrouping.

    Virtual Hugs! and Absolute Peace!
    Jamie

  10. I chose to feature this poem in a post called “Inspiration of the week” at http://promisingpoetsparkinglot.blogspot.com/ ! I think we all have struggled with the Muses at least once and your poem can certainly be an inspiration for others! The post will be up on Sunday!

Leave a comment