Leaking again?! NEW oil slick discovered near BP Deepwater Horizon site!

A new, 10-mile long oil slick has been discovered near the original site of the BP Deepwater Horizon accident that managed to destroy much of the Gulf of Mexico ecology. I have two questions:

1) WHY ARE WE NOT HEARING ANYTHING ABOUT THIS IN THE MAINSTREAM MEDIA?????

2) WHY IS BP STILL BEING ALLOWED TO OPERATE HERE IN AMERICA?????

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Ecology, Food For Thought, Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Leaking again?! NEW oil slick discovered near BP Deepwater Horizon site!

  1. Very good questions Corina! Have you noticed how every news is famous for about 3 days and after that the next one comes and the old problem – solved or not, it doesn’t show anymore, anywhere? Pretty annoying! As for the oil leak … it’s a crime how they pollute nature and remain free without punishment. Who knows what and where they’ve been leaking to poison water, air, food … etc. No wonder so many new, incurable diseases have appeared … Thanks for posting this!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Blaga. Yes, it’s like mankind purposely wants to forget – it’s inconvenient and unsettling to think about, so people would much rather bury their heads in the sand and ignore it or hope by not thinking about it, it will go away. Sad, sad, sad. I so agree with you about big corporations getting away with destroying the environment and given free reign to do it again. Makes me ill.

  2. eebrinker says:

    yep, that’s an oil slick. i didn’t see a time stamp on the video …. did they post in the description that this was a recent video?

    i agree how there isn’t enough attention paid to real issues in the mainstream media. crazy how much they dumb down everything and insult the intelligence of most Americans. i mean, we aren’t the smartest kids on the block — but as low as the bar is set, there has to be a majority that could stand for some smarter news.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E. At the top left of the video title that is a date stamp, but if you go to the site Onwingsofcare.org, scroll about 1/2way down the page on the right and you can see the tracked flights that were logged in the past few months. If it’s *not* new oil, then it’s certainly old oil/dispersant that has once again risen to the top. Either one is unacceptable. It really is crazy how stupid they think most Americans are…I just can’t believe we’re all that dumb…I can’t believe it. Yes, smarter news would be a breath of fresh air…but everyone has a spin/agenda, it seems. No such thing as unbiased reporting anymore, is there?

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    I’m not surprised – I wish I was, but I’m not. That is almost as sad as the slick…
    😦

  4. Bodhirose says:

    I hadn’t heard about this. Yes, either one is unacceptable. If it’s not a new slick but oil that’s rising to the top from the former spill–something needs to be done pronto! It seemed to me that the BP spill was declared “cleaned up” way too quickly by the powers that be. It’s up to we as individuals to educate ourselves about the world–we can’t depend on the media, the government or anyone else to give us the truth.

    My three sisters and I are planning a weeks vacation at St. Georges Island in the north panhandle of Florida on the Gulf in early November–I would hate to see blobs of oil being washed ashore–or worse, injured animals.

    Thanks, Corina.

  5. Yeah! Every situation has its five minutes. Don’t know if that’s a media problem, a short attention span on the part of the public, or both. Probably both, but more media.

    As to the second question, maybe something to do with $. Isn’t that usually the case?

    Good questions. Good post. Thanks for putting up the vid. We need to be aware and ask for answers and accountability.

    Jamie Dedes

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks for coming by, Jamie! 🙂 Yes, I think you’re right that it’s a combination of both short attention spans and screwed up priorities in the media as to why we we don’t see more about this plastered everywhere…and not just short attention spans, but really short memories, too…which of course is what the oil/gas companies count on. Agreed, that $$ is probably the bottom line re: why BP is still allowed to drill here. I know that this will be a large consideration next year when I cast my vote.

    • dragonkatet says:

      😀 Thanks so much, Jo! I have received this in the past but it’s always nice to be recognized again by one’s peers! I am honored that you like my blog well enough to pass that award on to me. 🙂 Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

