~ Summer Segue ~ (Co-post with Blaga)

((I haven’t done much collaborative writing with many people. I think, in some ways, it is harder than writing solo. However, I was recently invited by Blaga (Broken Sparkles) to collaborate with her on a poem about the season change from summer into autumn, and I am very pleased with our results! 🙂 She provided the lovely image which seems perfect to me! Enjoy!))

 

When the leaves change their dresses for the Fall Masquerade,
To glide through the cool, blue Autumn air,
the last essence of bellflowers, the final breath of a sea tide,
disappear under the bullet-like drops of sapphire rain …

Summer sighs, in its languid, lover’s way,
Preparing for a bed of waving, golden fields.
Picnic blankets, children’s giggles in the park fall under a spell,
logs and glares in the fire place, in every living room there is a piano that plays.
Apple boughs hang heavy, ready for the cider press,
While squirrels skitter to and fro, frantically gathering shadow-tailed treasures.
A symphony that carries crisp dewy mornings,
honors the colors of stories hidden in the landscape …
Soon, we will shiver in shorts and sandals,
As jackets and sweaters gain fashion’s favor.
It’s time to save the last bubbles of blazing solstice
and welcome the dance of the crops in the meadows.

© C.L.R & Blaga Tovodora

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Nature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to ~ Summer Segue ~ (Co-post with Blaga)

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    Well done – and I did not ask before on Christopher’s post – it did not seem appropriate – so now here goes – how about some collaborating with the ol’ pirate crew and a few extras on this piece ???
    http://jobryantnz.wordpress.com/2011/09/26/pinghank/

  2. It does look good in a post and nice in combination with the image! The title is really catchy. And I have the feeling the seasons were waiting for us to finish the poem, because as of today it feels like Autumn in here :)! Thanks for posting it! I will make a post when I’m back! Have a good day dear Corina!

  3. I don’t want summer to go (ever 🙂 ), but if it has to leave, this poem would ease the transition. Beautiful words create beautiful images it seems.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Cap’n! I don’t mind summer going away for another year and welcoming Fall. Beauty truly is in the eye of the beholder, but Blaga and I managed quite well, I think! 🙂 Thanks for the kind comment and I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  4. Bodhirose says:

    What a wonderful collaborative effort–it’s seamless in its merging between the two of you. I love this idea of sharing a write!

    Corina, I have nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award: http://bodhirose.wordpress.com/2011/09/28/the-versatile-blogger-award-2/

  5. eebrinker says:

    i really enjoyed this … captured a lot of what carries from the one season into the next. sort of thematic in the reasoning for loving those changes and gravitating towards the comfort-points as life moves forward.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks for stopping by, E! 🙂 Yeah, I can’t help it – Fall is my all time favorite season and the shift from summer to Fall just gets me excited! I’m glad you liked it though.

  6. Pingback: Summer Segue « Broken Sparkles

  7. Jamie Dedes says:

    Corina, a beautiful poem and a welcome collaboration. I commented at Blaga’s place, but wanted to take a moment here as well. Thank for such a pleasure today.

  8. dragonkatet says:

    Thanks, Jamie! It was great fun to write with Blaga. We seemed to do a really good job of meshing the lines and ideas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

