~ Dragons’ Secret (Re-worked)~

((As strange as it may seem, I haven’t written many poems about dragons. My wonderful friend Roughwater John recently suggested that I do so. So, for the past couple of weeks I have struggled and fought with this piece and am still very far from satisfied with it. I wouldn’t have posted it, except I need some honest crit and feedback on how to make it smoother and better. I know it’s long. Believe me, I know. It was meant to be something like an Epic poem which told a story. There is a point to it, which you’ll see, if you manage to make it all the way to the end. *sigh* I am tired of mucking with it at this point, but can’t seem to let it go, so I apologize if it seems “over-worked”, as I suspect it does. Any suggestions or thoughts would be greatly appreciated!!))

* * * * * * * * *

Far beyond time’s measure and memory,    
Long before the world became as it is,       
The wondrous dawn of Dragons came to be,
And brought with their kind, sun-forged imprimis,    
The sage and noble first seed of life’s truth:   
Protect and guard the world’s balance they knew.
They bore this mission to fruit, in their youth,
And in their high, immortal manner, too,
Preserved the knowledge, and kept the way smooth;
They held tireless vigil o’er beasts and land.
Whether newly hatched or long in the tooth,
They instantly knew, and could understand,
Necessity of defending their world:
Ensure the delicate balance survived.
Through Light and Dark, Past and Future unfurled,
Balance made sure that the seed of truth thrived,
Through vast generations of ageless souls,

Dragons’ keen skill kept the world’s balance true.
‘Til certain beasts (men) crept out of their holes,
Watched the dragons, and in their learning grew,
In dire arrogance, thought that they knew best,

With no accord or preservative plan.
They took what they wanted, savaged the rest,
No keepers of truth, these foul beasts called Man.
They spread like disease, infecting the land.
Claiming dominion of all that they saw.
The balance shifted, under Man’s harsh hand,
With no respect for the Dragons’ first law.
The Wyrms began to ponder their choices,

Held Dragon Council and called for a vote.
“Destroy them!” cried almost all the voices.
Then one came forward, soft voice in her throat,
Spoke of another, wiser solution:

“Let us,” she said, “disguise ourselves as men.
Then teach them, ourselves, to stop pollution.
Teach them about balance, as one of them.
But, we must forsake our immortal souls.”
The words echoed grave round the gathered drakes.
All considered such a change to their roles,
And the consequences of Man’s mistakes.
Finally, as one, they reached agreement.
Scales shivered, wings withered, tails disappeared.
They keened a last, great song, in deep lament,
Forfeiting all, for the truth they revered.
Then they dispersed to all of Earth’s corners.
Clothed in many colors of human skin.
They started their set task as foreigners,
But adapted, quickly learned to fit in.
You may have met one of their disguised kind.
They fight for the Earth, and all its glory.
They’re rare, but if you look hard, you might find,
That you already know the Dragons’ story.
They’ve left the ending to you and me…

They’ve left it to us. So what will it be?

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2011

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ~ Dragons’ Secret (Re-worked)~

  1. I didn’t just ‘make it to the end’, I thoroughly enjoyed my journey, This poem is epic, in a very wonderful way. I really enjoyed the shifts and changes as the words progressed and the story unfolded. Great job!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Cap’n. I have you to thank for the inspiration, ya know. I’m happy that you enjoyed it…I still wish there was a way to condense it without losing the point of it. May have to come back at some point and re-work it. Thanks for taking the time to read all the way to the end! 🙂

  2. I’ve never gotten into dragon’s mythology until very recent. This poem is a good overview…an epic, indeed. You did it and I’m sure it was a challenge, but I’m not surprised.

  3. Jamie Dedes says:

    I love dragon myth and I think this is fine presentation … I don’t find it too long, by the way, but I enjoy long poems and there’s even a magazine that specializes in poems longer than this one.

    The repitition of lines didn’t work here for me!!??? I’m not sure why, but I will give the poem some thought and another read later today or early tomorrow and if I think of anything that might be helpful, I will comment. But really, over all, I think this is quite good and quite a challenging project, I might say.

    Poem on, dear Corina! 😉

  4. dragonkatet says:

    Thanks so much for the feedback, Jamie! You know, I struggled with whether to use the line repetition or not, and I agree with you that it just doesn’t work well with this piece. Thanks again for the visit, comment and especially the feedback. 🙂 I very much appreciate it!

  5. I find it beautiful! You’ve captured the essence of dragons so well and I like the idea of them being amongst us, protecting the Earth, we need such angels! I agree with Jamie about the repetition, without it it will read really smoothly. Great job Corina!

Leave a Reply

