~ The Wraith ~

((My favorite holiday is almost here again. 🙂 I love Halloween/All Hallow’s Eve/Samhain, etc. I love the spookiness, the shadows, the full moons, the costumes and sense of play, the candy isn’t bad either (sometimes) and just how much fun people always seem to have this time of year! I’ve written several spooky poems in honor of Halloween. Here’s an old one. Enjoy!))

*********

Slipping from slumber,
into the night.
With fangs that rend,
and fears that bite.
Red eyes that glow with a gleaming heat,
ever seeking out fresh meat.
Like oily smoke, it slithering seeps
in sliding shadows,
quietly creeps.
It beckons with a blackened claw,
and amused, it laughs,
with a hissing maw.
It steals into the deepest dreams,
smothering even the loudest screams.
Tainting all the light it finds,
and feasting on the shell-shocked minds.
So silent, it revels in the dark,
leaving nothing, not a mark.
All through the night,
until the dawn.
And then it hides,
to sleep and spawn.
And wisping slips away again,
before the sun can scald it’s skin.
Shrinking back to places black,
It clings to every precious crack,
Hunger sated ’till the darkening hour,
When the wraith will return,
with mysterious power…

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2003

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ~ The Wraith ~

  1. I guess since now it’s your season and the time of the year you love the most/ I remember from Season’s challenge :)/ that’s why there is such a vivid glow in your words!

    I like very much – “Like oily smoke, it slithering seeps in sliding shadows, quietly creeps.” It has this mysterious touch of Halloween. We don’t have Halloween here in Greece, but I do enjoy watching movies about it …

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Blaga. I didn’t know you guys didn’t have Halloween over there! You miss out on all the fun, with the costumes and candy, jack-o-lanterns and apple cider, etc.! There are some REALLY good Halloween movies out there, like “The Nightmare Before Christmas” and “The Rocky Horror Picture Show”, “Young Frankenstein”, “The Lost Boys” and of course, the Underworld series are pretty good. Hope you get to watch a good Halloween movie tonight! 🙂

      • My friend’s kid goes to an English-American school and they celebrate Halloween, there. Last year I helped with the pumpkin 🙂 they had a contest with creatively made pumpkins, the boy won 2nd place, we made family pumpkins- mom, dad and baby on a tray, decorated them with fake hair, hats and the baby had a dummy :). And the year before I went to the school on the Halloween party, the kids were so cute dressed in costumes. The Greeks have in February a celebration with costumes, but it has totally different ideas and meaning … Thanks for the movie names, I’ll look them up, maybe something to watch over the weekend! Have a lovely new week Corina! Thanks for the mail, I will get back to you with answer later on!

  2. Jo Bryant says:

    That does it – I am coming nowhere near your blog on Halloween ever again…
    Nuh uh – nope – never – ever – not a chance – forget it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. this is surely haunting,

    animated write, smiles.

  4. Poets Rally says:

    Happy November,

    http://promisingpoetsparkinglot.blogspot.com/2011/10/window-to-world-on-life-of-poet-week-4.html

    blaga mentioned you in our featured post, thanks for the attention, welcome joining poets rally week 55 today.

    Happy November, stay blessed!

Leave a Reply

