~ Waking the Dead ~

((Zombies have always scared me. Bad. I can’t watch zombie movies (with the exception of “Shaun of the Dead”) because they give me terrible nightmares. In an effort to “exorcise” some of this fear, I wrote a poem for Halloween some time ago. It’s about zombies. And it’s scary. But the video trailer is pretty funny. You were warned. :P))

*********

~ Waking the Dead ~

 
A chill wind blows across the pregnant moon,

clouding sky and darkening night.

The midnight hour is just now past,

and the shadows take winged flight.

The blackness hovers ’round the rippling ground,

caressing the crumbling stones…

From beneath them, now, there comes a sound

of aging, rotted bones.

Filthy, ragged fingertips punch through dirt,

clawing steadily to reach night’s air…

The clods of mucked earth fall away,

Revealing a skull, and matted chunks of hair.

It groans an empty, whispered hiss,

the vocal chords all rot and slime.

Climbing slowly out of putrescent mud,

clothes naught but rags and putrid grime.

Its dead, cold, fishy eyes aware,

the zombie struggles free.

No more caged in wretched grave!

The wormy lips twist in wicked glee.

Nearby, another corpse shambles forth,

spilling liquid, from its stinking tomb.

Sliding out of the muddy, squelching earth,

it too, moans tortured doom.

Slick earthworms writhe through rotten flesh,

and the sickening death-stench grows…

Beetles scuttle through a gaping, slack mouth,

and glistening black, scurry back,

through the nose.

The soft plop of an eyeball as it wetly slides

down a cheek in a dangling glare.

Ages of maggots have done their dank work

Green, decayed meat falls here and there.

The army of Death is gathering,

 unholy groans carried on the foul wind.

All the dead shall rise and walk the Earth

and Apocolypse shall begin…

Staggering, shambling, lurching forms

announced by the ripe smell of flesh rotten,

they move with skeletal, faltering steps

towards the warm blood they’d almost forgotten.

Craving the life they’ll never have again,

their sorrow and fury complete.

Hungering, thousands of them wake!

To roam the unsuspecting streets!

By morning, none living will remain,

the fearful screams and thuds will have ceased….

The only sounds will be of the dead…insane…

as they gather to the fresh flesh feast!

Beware of the gluttony of the walking dead,

for your fear whets their appetite!

And pray that when they come for you,

you’ll be among the first to die tonight…

~ C.L.R. ~ ©


About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to ~ Waking the Dead ~

  1. haunting, brilliant write.

    Happy Halloween, Thanks for the support to the community, bless you.

    welcome sharing your talent with us this week, link in by Thursday.
    🙂

    xoxox

  2. Oh, that kept me right on the edge of every word! I don’t get scared of movies in general, but I’m not into zombie movies somehow … I like the heroes of my movies to look cute, even if they are evils or killers/ I don’t watch often romantic movies either :)/ I like them beautiful, handsome … zombies kind of look ugly 🙂 The poem was great, honestly I wouldn’t be able to write on such a topic!

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    OMG – now how am I supposed to sleep.
    Try watching Zombieland – after the first ten minutes it is so funny you’ll forget why they scared you in the first place.

  4. eebrinker says:

    ha! that’s good …. love the juxtaposition of the bouncy rhythm to the ‘gory’ content. i have shaun of the dead on file — funny movie, even though am not big on blood and guts. hope you had a good halloween. 🙂 (mine was quite, answered the door to one set of trick or treaters and that was it — they’re lucky i had some snickers left! 😉 )

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E. 🙂 Yeah, I’m not much on blood and guts anymore, myself, but thought Shaun of the Dead was a decent zombie flick. I was working on Halloween, so didn’t get to hand out any candy 😦 or see many costumes this year. Yes, know what you mean about the snickers (my weakness is Reese’s cups) – never get them or I will eat them ALL!

  5. Jamie Dedes says:

    Ha! Clever. You may have exorcised your demons, but you just enlivened mine…

  6. Pingback: From the Vaults, just in time for Halloween… | ~ Dragon's Dreams ~

Leave a Reply

