~ Sunrise Sighs ~

image from tennesseeanimals.org

Today, for the first time in a small while, I was awake to witness a fresh sunrise.
The purpled-pink fingers crept up like a smile,
gently waking the crisp air of still-sleepy skies.

Vaporous flames of bright orange hues, licking the velvet of dew-kissed dawn,
Sleep promised me a solid, deep, dreamless snooze,
But rapt in my awe, I stayed awake and gazed on.

I love the quiet, hushed hours of Night; they keep me content in a solitary peace,
But the rare, glimpsed glory of Morning’s soft light
Makes me ache with a sweetness that begs for release.

~ C.L.R. ~ ©

((P.S. I didn’t have a camera with me at the time to capture the beauty of the sunrise I saw (isn’t that always the way of it?), so I searched the web until I found one that was close.))

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Ecology, Inspiration, Nature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ~ Sunrise Sighs ~

  1. Oh, the image, the words … breathtaking Corina! As I am welcoming the sunrise here in Athens, I hope it will carry such beauty too … Happy weekend!

  2. eebrinker says:

    well yesterday morning i was up at the crack of dawn for no reason …. maybe something to do with the eclipse of the moon? really beautiful write …….

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Heya E! The eclipse – yeah, I missed that, unfortunately. I really wanted to see it, too. It’s strange that I almost never see a sunrise anymore…it really was breath-taking and I thought about how hard it would be to re-create it with paint on canvas. So many subtle hues and shades, and it would fall far, far short of the glory of the real thing. Anyway, thanks for coming by and I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  3. eebrinker says:

    yea we get some cool sunrises here over the wasatch mountains — i’m just not up almost never to see or enjoy them. many times have wished i was a morning person —- but 3 or more days in a row of early rising and i go all wigged-out. can’t stay the ‘mellow’ me ……

    i guess the best ever in sunrises AND sunsets was in hawaii. i was only 12 or so, but still remember

  4. Bodhirose says:

    Wow, you did that sunrise beautiful justice with your vivid imagery here, Corina. I can’t remember the last time I saw a sunrise…I never get up that early anymore. But what an exquisite photo you found–stunning colors!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Gayle! 🙂 I am rarely up to see the sunrises anymore…if I am, it’s from being awake through the whole night. The photo was as close as I could find to the colors that I saw. Thank you for coming by!

Leave a Reply

