~ Political Shakespeare ~

((I normally don’t “do” politics online, mainly because of the incendiary nature of such posts. I don’t like conflict, nor do I actively seek nut jobs who would like to bash me or my political leanings, or who would like to ‘convert’ me to ‘their side’. And, I am in no way comparing myself to the Bard. All that being said, consideration of the current political state of affairs here in America and the upcoming Iowa caucuses has inspired me to write something about it. Agree or disagree as you like…I’m not here to debate with you. 🙂 ))

image borrowed from catravens.blogspot.com

Double, Double,
Polls in trouble,
Rumors burn and
Passions bubble.

Eye of Newt and Tooth of Mitt,
If either wins,
we’ve gone to shit.
Bachman’s batty, no brains from Perry,
The Republican ticket
sure is scary!
Huntsman flip-flops more than most,
The media’s made Ron Paul a ghost.

Double, Double,
Polls in trouble,
Rumors burn and
Passions bubble.

‘Round about the masses go,
In the poisoned scandals throw,
Toads, from under stones they crawl,
To add their voices to the brawl.
Fillet of a lobbyist snake,
From the pit of vipers take.
Needless pork and sheeples’ balls,
Heedless of the middle-class calls,
“For a charm of powerful trouble,
Like a hell-broth, boil and bubble.”

Tongue of Fox News, blubber of Rush,
Add Koch Brothers’ money to the slush,
Hannity’s vomit, O’Reilly’s hot air,
No worries if it’s truth or fair.
Add paranoia, a dollop of fear,
Mix it all in a muddy smear!

Double, Double,
The country’s in trouble!
The rich will steal money,
‘Till the middle class is rubble…

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2011

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Poetry, Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to ~ Political Shakespeare ~

  1. eebrinker says:

    you betcha! seems like you had WAY too much fun with this ….

    wrote on my facebook status this week “would somebody for the love of God make some news-am so sick of everything being about the GOP nominations. they are one step from asking the arson survivors: “and who do you think is the best Republican choice?”

    or asking the vets coming back from iraq – asking the million dollar bill walmart dude who he’s going to vote for in the primaries. it’s gotten that ridiculous. am a bit of a news junkie and it’s like they’ve soured my milk. a LOT more going on in the world right now besides the antics of an indecisive right. not to disparage your post! just get the feeling you’re tired of hearing on it, too…..

    boil and bubble ’em all …. something smells in the state of the state.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, E! I DID have fun writing this. I am completely with you though, I am sick to death of hearing about it. You know what I find most nauseating about all of it? They’re going to an “undisclosed location” to tally the votes. I mean, seriously, how much more transparent could they be about making sure the candidate THEY want to “win” will be the one who wins? It’s like they’re so in your face now about election fraud that they aren’t even bothering to hide it anymore. well, we all know it’s been going on for many years now, but still…anyway, yes, I will be glad when it’s over. Just got back to blogging after being away for holiday stuff, but you are next on my list of people with whom to catch up! Can’t wait, as it seems you have been a busy bee! 🙂

  2. eebrinker says:

    oh heck — i’ve been getting over 100 hits a day these days. mostly on the computer-wiz stuff! my ‘poetry’ never that popular *grins* ……… but the top showing in search parameters for semi-specific issues. feel a little tarded having a blog people are coming-to for computer help, titled on psychology! lol …imagine it’s puzzling to ’em.

    i don’t care if GOP cheat on their primaries — it’s all based on which company/industry with the most power backs which candidate, anyway. at this point i think it would be more honest to have Amazon run for president. or have Sony enter the race for supreme commander. have Comcast or Monsanto put their names on the ballet as contenders.

    for their presidential portrait in the Whitehouse halls, they can frame a copy of their balance sheet. *sigh* indignation is tiring ————- i’m gonna veg and maybe play some video games 🙂

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    I love this – even if I have completely no understanding of how your election processes work – i’ve tried to understand it – really, I have…but it is so complicated and convoluted…

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thanks, Jo. I agree the process is overly complicated and frustrating to try and figure out, and in the end, it really doesn’t matter anymore because it seems like almost ALL of the elected politicians have been bought out long ago by corporate interests and lobbyists…meaning, whoever has the most money ends up winning (one way or another) – they either have the money to buy the advertisement minutes or the money to bribe the right people to rig the voting machines and computers. I’ll still be voting, because it’s my right, but the cynic in me already believes the outcome has already been decided for us…and if, by some chance, the bigwigs with the money don’t get who they want, there are ways to deal with that, too (be it the electoral college, rezoning the voting districts, or outright assassination of the problem). Please forgive my rambling cynicism…after being a political junkie for a long time, one tends to look at things with a skeptic’s eye.

      • eebrinker says:

        i think you’re right — i think a lot of us feel the same way about losing our government influences to industry. reason and reasoning should win, but it seems like only money is crossing the finish line.

        and basically can read the writing on the wall as we watch more and more harmful policies that no one in correct forms of stewardship would consider. i seriously am thinking on a theory that aliens did really land and take over — so much of what is now “modern life” in the U.S. being so contrary to GOOD life. that those in power MUST be aliens from another planet, because what sort of leaders would ALLOW this kind of messing with the minds of the populace? it goes beyond my ability to catalog as any sort of logical outcome — whereby the only answer is they really DID land and really DID offer us a book on “how to serve man.” :O

      • Jo Bryant says:

        I love to hear you are skeptical – we need more of that all over the world…

  4. I’m not into politics either, but great post, and what a fun way to share it. I think politics should be a mix between school and jury duty. Pick someone and make them President for a couple of years. If they do a good job, then they’re done, if they screw up, make ’em do it again. We should never have to elect someone who actually ‘wants’ the job. 🙂

  5. lengesinski says:

    I Loved The Post, Still Laughing Like a Total Loon………….

  6. To me all politicians/ American or European/ are all the same and as you say the reach steal money and countries are in trouble, while you and me and many others like us are trying to find ways to make ends meet, based on quantum physics or space-ship theories, because every simple way out is no longer possible. Reading the poem sounded funny, I liked the rhymes… I don’t recognize any of the names mentioned in the text but they can easily be replaced with names I’m familiar with 🙂

  7. Dear Corina, I hope you had a very special Christmas holiday and 2012 will be good and beautiful for you! Thank you for all your support, comments and encouraging words, always! Sending you my love and best wishes!

  8. Bodhirose says:

    Bravo! I couldn’t agree more. All politicians these days are bought and paid for…it’s sickening to me. I think I like Captain’s idea…anyone who wants the job–no way. But then eventually there would start to be lying about that too. How the hell do we get ourselves out of this mess?!

    Fun, cool piece and very smart…love it, Corina.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Gayle, and so sorry about the late response! I have no idea how to get ourselves out of the mess that the govt. has become…I don’t even know if it’s possible anymore, considering *they* write the laws which govern them…I hate to sound like a fatalist, but it may come down to actual revolution in the streets, with the poor and middle class masses marching upon the 1% with pitchforks and such. I sincerely hope not, but Americans’ apathy is finally catching up with them…it’s going to take a LOT to change things.

      • Bodhirose says:

        You know, I’ve thought the same thing…it ‘s going to take us hitting the streets again to bring about change and to let the government know that we’re DONE!

  9. This is fun…Shakespeare’s got to be smiling, too. Everyone should enjoy good political humor. Thanks, Corina, for the kind comments you left on my blog. It’s good to see you again.

  10. booguloo says:

    I think it was great. What’s makes it even better is who the winner ended up being. Who woulda thunk? Not I for sure. Smiles…

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thanks, M. Yeah, kinda funny to see that the person the media and the rest of them want to be the “obvious” choice for everyone isn’t actually the one who won.

Leave a Reply

