Kismet’s Call

((Anyone who knows me knows that kittens are my Kryptonite! I recently submitted a story for the “Great Animal Rescue Chase“, which is a very worthwhile site dedicated to saving animals of all kinds. I have several ‘fur-babies’ in the family but there is a special place in my heart for Kismet. Here’s the beginning of her story. 🙂 Enjoy!))

I work the late shift at a university library that is open until 2 a.m. There are a lot of stray cats on campus that have become permanent residents. Both the students and staff feed them and despite their best efforts, animal control can’t catch them all; there always seems to be a new litter of kittens in the spring semester. Two years ago, our area was hit with a major flood (around here they called it one of those “thousand year floods” because it’s so rare to have it be as bad as it was). Last year (2011), it looked like it was going to happen again. The rain just wouldn’t stop and the water levels kept rising. One stormy night in early May of last year, I had gone outside to take a phonecall and I kept hearing a kitten mewing. As a lifetime ‘cat-person’, I knew exactly what a kitten in trouble’s meow sounded like. It was pouring down rain and I could barely hear it, but I couldn’t go back inside without at least trying to find the kitten! There were several students who had heard it, too, and they reported to the people inside at the front desk that there was a kitten

The first night

somewhere out there. I went back inside, grabbed an umbrella and told my co-workers that I was going to find that kitten. In my haste to find the poor kitty, I didn’t think to grab a flashlight.

We have a very large, bowl-shaped grass area in front of the library which fills up with water if it rains long and hard enough, due to the storm pipes at each end of it. There are a few sidewalk lights placed at various points around the outside of the bowl, but they didn’t shed much light through the downpour. The mews seemed to be coming from somewhere inside the bowl, but the sound kept bouncing off and echoing in the rain so it was hard to pinpoint. I began to slowly walk around the outside of the bowl, stopping every few feet to listen and try to pinpoint where the meows seemed loudest. After about fifteen minutes, I thought I had found a close spot, and started slowly walking into the grass, calling out “Kitty? Hey, kitty..” I could still hear the meows and was heartened that they sounded close. I almost stepped on her and stopped just in time. Looking down, I could barely make out the tiny, black shape in the grass, crying her little lungs out for someone to help her. I bent and picked her up, holding her close to me under my jacket to try and keep her warm. The poor thing was soaking wet and shivering cold and immediately buried her head in my armpit, pushing as hard as she could to get safe and warm. I think that was the moment that she captured my heart.

I brought her back inside and dried her off with one of the spare towels we keep for drying

A couple of weeks later

off wet books and then kept her cuddled in my lap to absorb my body heat. I didn’t have anything to feed her there at work, and I wasn’t sure she had been weaned yet since she looked to be only about five weeks old. My “lunch break” is from 9:30 p.m. – 10:30 p.m. and the only place close which was still open was a 24-hour gas station. I had two cats already, so I had catfood at home, but I didn’t know if the kitten would be able to eat it. The gas station had some kitten chow, and luckily, some baby food. I purchased both and drove home.

When I came inside, my boyfriend was still awake and saw the kitten in my arms curled up

Such a cutie!

against my chest. He smiled and asked, “So what are we going to name it?” I hadn’t intended to keep it, truly. I had a friend who had recently lost her 15 year old tuxedo cat and was thinking this little kitten might be just for her, but discovered the next day that she wasn’t ready to get another cat yet. So, the next night I told my boyfriend that the kitten’s name was Kismet. I feel safe in saying that Fate certainly had a hand in bringing us together and I hope to share my life with her as long as she’ll have me. 🙂 She has since been adopted into our family and we’re all living happily ever after!

Kismet today

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Cats. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Kismet’s Call

  1. eebrinker says:

    awwwwwwww… this made me tear-up. so sweet ….. definitely fate. and such a purty kitty!

  2. You know, for a person that likes dragons, you sure have a soft heart. 🙂 Of course, even my Pirate heart melts for kittens, just don’t tell the rest of the crew.

    • dragonkatet says:

      *grin* Well, thank you, Captain, but you know one does not preclude the other. 😉 And don’t worry, your secret is safe with me (although I suspect your crew already knows lol).

  3. Awwww…so sweet of you! The kitty was so lucky to get you!

  4. Bodhirose says:

    Love this…what a great story. I have a soft spot for cats too–my tabby is named Sita. Kismet today looks so much like my daughter’s cat, Rumi. What a beautiful cat and so very fortunate to have you in her life.

    We always had cats growing up. One night my boyfriend picked me up on his motorcycle…it was cold out and had been raining. We rounded a corner and in the wet ditch on the side of the road…something caught my eye…tiny eyes in the headlight. I had my boyfriend stop and turn around and we found the dirtiest, sickest, flea-bitten-est little kitten I’d ever seen. I took her home, cleaned her up and she became a part of our family immediately.

    Thanks for a heartwarming story with a very happy ending…

    • dragonkatet says:

      Speaking of heart-warming stories with happy endings! How awesome is that that you listened to that inner voice after seeing those tiny eyes and how cool that your boyfriend turned around for you (and her)! 😀 Was that Sita? If so, it makes sense why you named her that – she was alone in the forest wilderness and definitely in need of rescue. Rumi is also another wonderful name. You know, of course, that every cat has THREE DIFFERENT NAMES 😉

      • Bodhirose says:

        It was just a split second where I thought I saw something as we rode by…so glad we went back! No, that wasn’t Sita…I was still a teenager at that point and living at home. And for the life of me, I can’t remember what we named that cat. Sita had been my daughter’s cat. She had mistakenly thought Sita needed another cat to keep her company but Sita hated Rumi from the second he came into the house. So when Mahan moved away, I kept Sita so she wouldn’t have to live in misery for the rest of her days! She’s very happy being an “only” kitty. 🙂 Love that name poem…I’ve never read that before. Very cute..now I know what she’s thinking when she’s in her meditative pose.

  5. sweet, sweet little angel …

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Ha! You’d think so, wouldn’t you? Honestly, I have thought a couple of times that she was a devil spawn…lol. If she wouldn’t have been female, her name would definitely have been LOKI. No kidding!

Leave a Reply

