~ Hamadryad ~

((This poem was inspired by a picture by my friend and a poet I quietly admire and adore, Luke Prater. If you haven’t read his work, you’re missing a phenomenal word-smith!))

image exclusive property of Luke Prater

What a smooth, green dream it must seem,

To be cocooned and cradled in the depths between,

The rough-barked, wooden walls, the outer shell,

And the inner heart-wood, that watched as the last leaf fell…

 

To live among the mushroom blooms and beds of Sphagnum,

Coleopteran caverns and the crevices which have them,

Life-pulse slowed in winter, resting, waiting out the freeze,

Then Spring’s stirring sap shall rise and beg release.

 

Peering out through bare-branched bower, enchanted home,

Dwelling in a timeless hour, roots sunk in deepest, richest loam,

There amidst the earth-toned smell of moistened moss,

She shifts and shivers limbs in a muted attempt at doss.

 

Most oblivious, few notice her naked, nymphed form,

Amusement flashes like lightning in an emerald-eyed storm,

Silent, watching the frantic, mad movements of men,

Glad when they leave and leafless peace reigns again.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2012

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Nature, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to ~ Hamadryad ~

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    Quite the wordsmith yourself actually…

  2. supertramp says:

    What a beautiful piece of poetry! I’m curious. Have you been writing for long?

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks very much, supertramp. 🙂 Have I been writing long? All my life, it seems. Yes, almost since as far back as I can remember…Thanks for the wonderful comment and for subscribing! I’m off to visit your blog here soon.

  3. lengesinski says:

    Excellent Work, I Enjoyed The Piece!

  4. This is one of your best, I absolutely loved the lyrical quality and rhythm of this beautiful piece.
    Oh… and being a Pirate, I noticed “her naked, nymphed form” 😉

  5. Luke Prater says:

    Wow! Nice to have the photo inspiring poetry… elegance in rhyming quatrains isn’t easy to pull off, to make your own and seem to rise out of the seething quagmire of poor attempts but you’ve surely done that. Owing in part to some wonderful proper nouns here (what a gift they are to the poet). Lovely poetry to honour the image, thank you my friend 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thank you, Luke, for both the inspirational photo and the very kind comment. The meter is pretty much non-existent, of course, but I went where the muse took me. 🙂 It makes me smile to think it honored your wonderful picture. Thank you for taking the time to read and comment!

  6. I agree with Luke, your words honor the image and make it even shinier …

  7. eebrinker says:

    really beautiful work, Dragon ….. sorry am sort of late in getting around to my reading. been that sort of a week/weekend. trying to come up for air and finding there isn’t any 🙂

    such is life ………… the tree is magical when it has that split or almost haven-look. makes me think of the redwoods and that one they had that you could drive your car through. am glad those woods are something have seen in person, because its trees are nothing you could get from a picture. the sense of earth reaching to the sky. i keep the memory whole — a piece of understanding in my cataloged experience. so this poem makes me think of that …………

  8. dragonkatet says:

    Thanks, E. No worries about any kind of timeline on reading. 😉 I know what you mean about trying to come up for air…life does have a way of sweeping us along at a frantic pace! I so agree with you about the trees which have that hollow space beneath them! You’re right that it seems to make them magical. I, too, saw the giant redwoods (when I was 9) and yes, the pictures don’t give you the sense of awe that standing beneath them does. “the sense of earth reaching to the sky.” That is exactly it! And when you think about how long it took for them to grow to such heights…and yet mankind could cut them down in a day or two…it boggles the mind. Definitely a memory worth archiving!!

  9. This is like entering an entire other dirmension. Just beautiful.

  10. Bodhirose says:

    That photo is amazing and you did it more than justice with your gorgeous and excellent writing, Corina…truly loved this.

Leave a Reply

