Erin Go Bragh! Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

To all my lovely friends and extended family out there, I wanted to post something quick to inspire you and get you smiling for St. Patrick’s Day! Normally, I like to touch on the history of such celebrations, but you can look it up yourself if you really wanna know. Instead, I wanted to share some of my favorite things about the holiday and about Ireland and the Irish, even though I don’t have Irish roots.

First, a couple of really good movies with an Irish tone:

“The Boondock Saints” (both one and two): a good set of movies for those of you who like things in the same vein as “The Big Lebowski”, “Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels”, etc. I’ve heard rumors there will be a third movie in this set and am patiently waiting and hoping for it!

“Snatch”: Again, another awesome action flick. The language can be hard to catch the first time around, so multiple viewings (or subtitles on) are recommended. 😉

Next would be a nod to the Fey (the wee folk, you know?). Leprechauns and wishes and pots of gold! Of course, one can’t mention the little people without thinking of “Darby O’Gill and the Little People”!

There are just so many cute ones to choose from!

Image borrowed from squidoo.com

And what about the shamrocks? As someone with a decidedly green thumb, I found the most interesting shamrock not long ago when looking for some new plants for landscaping the yard…guess what? They’re PURPLE!! 😀 And they are beautiful!!

image from jaycjayc.com

Called Oxalis Triangularis you can read more about them here.

I love Irish castles and ruins! It is a dream of mine that I might someday visit them in person and lay my hands on the ancient stones that hold so many stories and memories (and who knows, maybe even kiss the Blarney stone!).  I like the old graveyards with their Celtic crosses and windswept, cobbled-together, field stone walls…

image borrowed from kewlblackkat.com

image borrowed from thetravelrag.com

I wouldn’t be me if I didn’t somehow mention Irish DRAGONS, of course!

image from photobucket.com irishdog54

There are plenty of Celtic dragons out there but this one…ahhhh now this one, I would absolutely love to give a home to!

image borrowed from flashpackerhq.com

One last thing I love about the Irish and Ireland is the music! SO much of it is full of spirit and heartfelt emotions that I could listen to it just about any time and still find it just as fulfilling. So I’ll leave you now, with a short example of Irish music and a sincere Irish wish from me to you!

“May the road rise to meet you.
May the wind be always at your back.
May the sun shine warm upon your face.
And rains fall soft upon your fields.
And until we meet again,
May God hold you in the hollow of His hand.

* * * * * * * * *

May your glass be ever full.
May the roof over your head be always strong.
And may you be in heaven
half an hour before the devil knows you’re dead!”

Are you feeling just a wee bit inspired to celebrate yet? I hope so! Just watch out for that green beer….animated green beer it’s leprechaun pee, you know! 😉

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Inspiration, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Erin Go Bragh! Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

  1. Great post! Loved the combination of thoughts and images, happy Saint Patrick’s day. 🙂

  2. Great post, colorful /greenful mostly :)/ and packed with interesting facts! I love the Oxalis Triangularis, so beautiful … I like the Irish castles too, it was on my list to visit Ireland last summer, but I managed to reach only London, but hopefully soon! If you haven’t seen a movie called “Leap Year” I suggest that you do, the action is in Ireland and the nature is breathtaking+ it’s a good romantic comedy! Happy day Corina!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Blaga, I will definitely look for that movie! 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the post and I hope you get to Ireland soon. Btw, I’m working on a reply letter to you and I am also making you a little something to send with it. The thing I am making takes a little time to craft, but i hope to have it mailed to you pretty soon.

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    I reckon we should explore a country like Ireland together,,,
    😉

  4. eebrinker says:

    ha! too much fun 🙂 second you on the castles and touching history. i do have a bit of irish mixed in there somewhere. mostly i think it gives me a great fondness for robert burns. that’s the way to go, face down in the snow and stinking drunk. i’m serious! live life your terms up to the vety last minute….that to me is what an irish spirit is about.

  5. This brought a wee bit ‘o joy to this old Irish heart!

Leave a Reply

