More money than sense…

Today I’m sharing with you guys an e-mail I received which had me quietly shaking my head in wonder. I’m all for creativity and art, but some people just don’t seem to know where to draw the line.

When it comes to decorating or using animals as “props”, there are stringent laws (at least in this country) about what types of dyes and products can be used on them. It’s just a guess, but perhaps China does not worry about such things. These people are spending THOUSANDS of dollars on high-tech dye jobs, haircuts and accessories for their pets. I have to admit that some of them look really cute…but in my opinion this just shows that some people have more money than common sense. And I sincerely hope the animals are okay and don’t suffer any unintended side-effects from the dyes, etc.

Some of you may say, “Oh lighten up, already!” and I understand that sentiment, as I know it’s meant to be amusing and entertaining but…is it just me who is a bit dismayed by this? Imagine all the good that money could do for…oh, I don’t know, starving or homeless people? It’s just crazy. Kudos for the creativity, thumbs down on the delivery method.

* * * * * * * * * *

 

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Animals, Art, Food For Thought. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to More money than sense…

  1. dragonkatet says:

    P.S. I sent the e-mail along to some friends, and a fellow WordPress blogger has a much more in-depth blog about it here:

    http://jobryantnz.wordpress.com/2012/06/28/dying-to-be-something-else/

  2. Pingback: Dyeing to be something else. | Chronicles of Illusions

  3. Jo Bryant says:

    I linked to this one…love the points you make. How could you not know I write about this !!!!! I am ALWAYS posting your e-mails Corina…
    😉
    🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Yeah, I know, I just never know which ones you’ll put on WP…lol. But I’m really glad we think alike – it’s nice to know another kindred soul.

  4. lengesinski says:

    So Much Money Wasted, Then I Think of The Poor Pets…….Grrrrrrr!

  5. eva626 says:

    I think the same thing (about starving people and poverty stricken orphans.) Such luxury…who knows what others spend their money on.

    • dragonkatet says:

      True enough. It is theirs to do with what they will. I suppose it could be looked at as a learning experience, like, if I am ever in a position where I have that kind of money to spend, I now know what I *won’t* be doing with it. 😉 Thanks for coming by, eva.

  6. Bodhirose says:

    When I was a kid..the extent of dye jobs for animals was when you could buy dyed chicks and bunnies at Easter time. I don’t like it. Apparently, across the globe people share in their obsession with their animals…and how they can waste their money on them. Ridiculous!

    • dragonkatet says:

      I know, right? Speaking of the colored chicks…in the blog I linked in the comment, she lets people know that those dyes are injected in utero…the chicks HATCH those colors. 😦

  7. wightrabbit says:

    I find this extremely sad. Creative, maybe, but what a deplorable way to treat noble animals, who have the right to just be what they are – dogs. My step-father was a vet and used to tell me off for ‘making a fool of’ our black Labradors, by putting my hat on their heads. He said it confused and stressed them, even though I thought it was a joke. What he would have made of this, I shudder to think!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, J. *Nods* I can only imagine what your step-father would have thought about something like this. I would tend to trust the opinion of a vet over the people who do this and say the animals suffer no ill effects. A hat on their heads for a moment is one thing…but this…not only do they have to wait for the dye to “grow out” but then the people do it to them all over again once it does. We live in a strange, sad world, my friend. :-/

  8. eebrinker says:

    i don’t know why i picture the asian mind as being cold and calculating on that sort of thing, and sort of hate myself for my own discriminations. i just see them laughing at the misfortune of others, somehow. which isn’t fair, and those have known in my life are reasonable, fair-minded people. it must be the stereo-types WE have from years of TV, etc. that, combined with something like this gives cause for dismay. without the stereo-type …….. it’s just a little on the creepy side.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Hmmm, that’s an interesting thought, E. You’re right, there definitely is a stereotype re: Asians’ “lack of emotion”. For me, personally, it would dismay me anyway, regardless of who was responsible for it – the chicks dyed at Easter that are sold here in the U.S. for novelty make me cringe (and now make me angry, too, since I discovered that the dye is injected in utero before they even hatch). Humans can be vain and stupid creatures, sometimes. I wish that people were screened globally before they could even HAVE an animal as a pet. :-/

  9. For me, that’s abusive…poor animals.

  10. Luke Prater says:

    ugh makes me sick. Thanks for bringing this to light. really appreciate the serious articles and issues you raise here

Leave a Reply

