It’s a colorful life!

My friend Jo, over at Chronicles of Illusions, has always been, in my opinion, a wonderful photographer. She recently did a blog titled “Red, white, yellow, blue and green – Kiwi style” and has passed the challenge along to me. We have to use our own photos to come up with representations/examples of these colors. I reluctantly accepted.

Disclaimer: I’m not really a photographer. I don’t even play one on TV. I do own a rather nice 35mm camera, but don’t use it very often. Most likely, I have my cell phone close, however, and work with its very limited 2 Megapixel camera. So…here you go, Jo. Before you ask, no, I didn’t post these on the challenge page (as with the Cap’n, it’s solely for you!). 🙂

RED – A picture of an Olina Tango Lily from my front flower bed. Grown from bulbs, I saw these in a catalog one day and simply had to try them. Every year they have more blooms and seem even more dramatic! If I ever move from this house, you better believe I’m taking some of these bad boys with me!

 

WHITE – Another flower from my front bed, a white Stargazer Lily. My lilies started out spectacular this year, but unfortunately, the drought this summer burnt them all to crispy critters, not very long after they started blooming. 😦

YELLOW – This guy is a Tiger Swallowtail.  In case you’re wondering, this one was almost as big as my hand! We grow ’em big in the South! 😉

BLUE – This is a picture from my trip to the Chattanooga, TN Aquarium. I don’t know what kind of shark this was, but it was neat being able to be so close to them. This curious fella kept coming by for another look.

GREEN – The Ents come down to the edge to drink. 😉 This is from a trip canoeing the Red River a couple of years ago. I have a ton of nature pictures that would’ve worked for GREEN, but this one has…character.


So there you have it! The rules say we’re supposed to pass the challenge along to five others, but I’m not sure that I even know five others who take enough pictures to try it, so I’m opening it up to anyone who wants to participate. To anyone reading this: If you’re up to the challenge, I’d love to see the colors of YOUR world! 😀

P.S. Here is an excellent entry for this challenge from another dear friend: Roughwater John, the pirate!

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Art, Ecology, Environment, Nature, Photo Challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to It’s a colorful life!

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    I knew you had some great shots there. That red flower is – wow – what a stunner. And you knew I would be thrilled with the shark. I love that your butterflies are so big…well done you !!!!!!!

  2. I will most definitely make a post and tag your friend Jo! Wonderful photos Corina! I love the flowers, the red one especially! Hugs!

    • dragonkatet says:

      😀 Thanks, Blaga! I actually had fun trying to find “just the right pictures” for it. Yours is terrific, too! I especially liked your pick for green. *Hugs* back atcha!

  3. Pingback: Life in colors « Broken Sparkles

  4. Bodhirose says:

    Wow…what great photos, Corina. Your flowers especially grabbed my attention..had not heard of that first lily..stunning..and that butterfly….gorgeous.

  5. Bodhirose says:

    P.S. Forgot to mention that amazing photo of the trees on the water…love it! What a beautiful view from a canoe…

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Hey, thanks, Gayle! I’m glad you liked them. The flowers are slow to grow but worth it – so rewarding when you can see the results of time and effort like that. The canoe trip was fun…if it ever cools off again anytime soon, I want to do it again.

  6. Beautifully done, every image is a perfect fit. Have to say though, the Ent was my favorite. 🙂

  7. wightrabbit says:

    Fabulous photos, Corina ~ totally in the spirit of the challenge! I particularly love Red River ~ it looks like a magical place. It’s interesting to read that your blooms got burnt by too much sun ~ in the UK ours were spoiled by too much rain! 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      🙂 Thanks, Jacqueline! Red River is a great place to canoe when the river is up…lots of trees and neat places to pull off for lunch. Yes, the poor flowers. Seems like it’s either “feast or famine” so to speak – we could’ve used your rain and you could’ve used some of our sunshine! 😦 I’d love to have a year where the weather stayed consistent enough to be able to enjoy them for the whole season! This is one reason I plant only perennials – annuals have great color, but at least with the perennials, if they don’t do well one year, there is always the chance they will do better next year. 🙂

  8. eebrinker says:

    beautiful photos ….am loving the butterfly, you caught that pic so nicely! all the others, too. really good composition.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Hey, thanks! I think I could really get into photography if I had a better camera. Santa promised me a new digital camera this Christmas if I’m really good, so we will see. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed them.

Leave a Reply

