Goodbye, Rocket Man

The world just got a little darker today, with the passing of an American icon and hero. Neil Armstrong, the first man to walk on the moon, died today at age 82. 

image borrowed from washingtonpost.com

Many years ago, on July 20th, 1969, it was his voice that echoed out across television sets and radios all over the planet Earth saying, “That’s one small step for man…one giant leap for mankind.”

image borrowed from 1.bp.blogspot.com

It’s a sad day. I wasn’t born yet when this great man made history with his famous moon walk, but I will always remember the sense of awe he inspired in me when I learned about the feat and was able to watch the footage many years later. R.I.P. and Godspeed, Mr. Armstrong. Thank you for being brave enough to inspire generations of humans to reach beyond this “mortal coil” and test the limits of our dreams.

image borrowed from blog.chron.com

 

 “High Flight”

by John G. Magee, Jr.

 Oh! I have slipped the surly bonds of Earth
 And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings;
 Sunward I’ve climbed, and joined the tumbling mirth
 of sun-split clouds, — and done a hundred things
 You have not dreamed of — wheeled and soared and swung
 High in the sunlit silence. Hov’ring there,
 I’ve chased the shouting wind along, and flung
 My eager craft through footless halls of air….

 Up, up the long, delirious, burning blue
 I’ve topped the wind-swept heights with easy grace.
 Where never lark, or even eagle flew —
 And, while with silent, lifting mind I’ve trod
 The high untrespassed sanctity of space,
 – Put out my hand, and touched the face of God.

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Food For Thought, Inspiration, Life, Nature, Poetry, Space, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Goodbye, Rocket Man

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    you made me quite tearful with thisone Corina…he was something special though wasn’t he !

  2. Bodhirose says:

    Someone who I admired greatly..and what he accomplished for our country. Thanks for posting this memorial, Corina…very sweet. He sure was a ‘Rocket Man’.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks for reading, Gayle. He was one of those bright stars that shines out in the masses of humanity and accomplishes something “once in a lifetime”. He was a humble, modest, simple man and I admire him all the more for that.

  3. lengesinski says:

    The Humble Hero of My Childhood, a Great Example of How To be a Great Example Despite Fame and Accomplishment.

  4. Men and women who do great things are never strangers Corina, but are kin to those who stand in awe of their feats. Thank you for the wonderful tribute!

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thank YOU for the true statement about ‘strangers’. I had not thought of it in that manner, but you are absolutely correct. We stand on the shoulders of giants…most of the time without realizing it, but still there, all the same. 🙂

Leave a Reply

