~ Memorium ~

image borrowed from white-buffalo-calf-woman.blogspot.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There must be a place, beyond the veil,
where sorrow has no hold.
Where tears become diamonds and
life cannot fail,
where sadness becomes spun gold.

Death, Itself, is neither wicked nor kind,
it is as it has always been:
the next great path we all
must find,
another beginning,
is born from an end.

It’s always hardest on those who are left,
to carry on with the torch of living.
The loss of our loved ones,
leaves us bereft,
in need of Time’s distanced giving.

Tell those you love them while you can:
we never know how long
we’re here.
Speak your heart,
and let them know where you stand.
For love will soften
that final tear.

There must be a place, beyond the veil,
where sorrow has no hold.
Where tears become diamonds and
life cannot fail,
where sadness becomes spun gold.

~ C.L.R. ~ © 2012

((My grandfather died today (9/2) at the tender age of 92. He was an incredible man who did so much good with his life. He will be missed more than I can say in words. Goodbye, Grampa. I love you.))

 

image borrowed from goldenstp.wordpress.com

 

 

 

 

 

“Be still, sad heart, and cease repining; Behind the clouds is the sun still shining; Thy fate is the common fate of all, Into each life some rain must fall, Some days must be dark and dreary.” ~Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Death, Family, Life, Love, Poetry, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to ~ Memorium ~

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    Dear Corina,
    Your loss saddens me across the divide. That you would lose such a part of your life. But I see the love that shines in your words and I know there is no divide between you and your grandfather…just a pause in your conversation. Know that I am thinking of you.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thank you, my dear friend. I admit I have been grieving the past few days and have not been making the rounds to the blogs I normally visit. I know you and others will understand. I’ve seen a lot of death of loved ones in the past decade. I keep thinking that it should be easier each time it happens, but it never is. You’re right though, it’s just a temporary disconnection. I can smile knowing in my heart and soul that I’ll eventually see them all again (human and animal alike). 🙂 Thanks for caring and being there. It means a lot.

      • Jo Bryant says:

        No it never gets easier Corina.
        I want to read you a poem that always helps me when I deal with loss. I sent it to John recently and I hope it gives you a sense of my warm arms around you.

        Invocation – Rod McKuen

        It may happen
        that in some hidden
        middle night

        you’ll rise up
        and come to me
        in solitude or silence.

        We will meet
        as we have met
        on a train or at the end
        of some new train of thought.

        ***
        Be gentle to yourself in this time and know we are thinking of you.

  2. Apparently, he helped craft a beautiful mirror in you, as you beautifully reflected his life and loss. Sorry for your loss, thank you for sharing your love and memories.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thank you, dear Cap’n, for being here too. I wish my mirror were larger, or maybe had a magnifying glass attached so that I could beam it into all the dark corners of the world. I have to try and write something to read at his memorial and keep running up against my inner perfectionist…how do you honor someone so great with mere words? Words fail. I’ll do my best, but there simply aren’t enough words to meet the task.

      • The great thing about life is, perfection is not what is required or desired. Heartfelt thoughts, anecdotes, that is what truly shares what life is about. Don’t seek perfection my friend, seek truth.

  3. eebrinker says:

    beautiful tribute, Corina — and sorry for your loss. just from the pictures, looks like he had a good outlook on life.

  4. Bodhirose says:

    I was away when you posted this, Corina, and am very sorry for the loss of your beloved grandfather and that you are feeling grief. He had such a beautiful and kindly face, and sweet smile. When I read words of love from those who had sweet relationships with others, I just feel how fortunate that they had that love. It feels so sweet and fulfilling. I’m happy you experienced that with your Grampa, Corina… that love between you will never go away. Hugs…Gayle xoxo

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Gayle. You’re very right that I was fortunate to have loved and had him in my life. I know that energy just changes form, so I’m sure he’s around here someplace, maybe even keeping an eye on me as I type..heh heh. The last ten days have been emotionally draining, among other things, but the only way “out” is “through”. I also know that the grief will not stay so intense forever. I look forward to when I can think about him and not be so sad. It helps having great friends. 🙂 Thank you for coming by and for the hugs! xo

  5. Luke Prater says:

    Beautiful dedication/reflective piece. I’m sorry for your loss but somehow I get the feeling there was a fitting relief and even joy to it (as was with my grandparents when they passed, and they were loved) that comes with natural cyclic life/death – as you say – ‘out’ is ‘through’ and he’s not gone. We come around again.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thank you, Luke. It was actually a huge surprise as he was in very good health for his age, but there is a joy in knowing that we had him as long as we did and that he was so well-loved. He and my grandmother were married for 67 years and there is also joy in imagining them together once again. There are some people in life who have more of an impact upon it than others…my grandparents were such people. Thanks for the wisdom – I am certain he is near. 🙂

  6. A touching reflection on what’s after this life and on your love for your grandfather. My mom is that age and it’s as though I’m losing her by the inch. I’m sorry for your loss and share your hope.

  7. supertramp says:

    I’m really sorry to hear about your loss dragonkatet. Your love sparkles through this poem, making it almost shimmer with an afterlife..long after i’ve read it. It makes this piece, more than a poem really, it’s a living, breathing tribute to your grandfather. What a beautiful feeling it must be, to know that your life is being celebrated with such love.

    “There must be a place, beyond the veil,
    where sorrow has no hold. ”

    Love, always.
    Supertramp.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks Supertramp. As much as Love (capital “L”) has been in poems throughout the ages, there are times when it’s not cliché; there are certain ‘human’ situations that never get old, regardless of how many times we experience them. I think Love is such a thing. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment. 🙂

  8. Once again, I am sorry for your loss! I’m sure he watches over you and admires you, such a great person that you are! Be well!

Leave a Reply

