Happy Birthday, Mr. Dahl!

“And above all, watch with glittering eyes the whole world around you because the greatest secrets are always hidden in the most unlikely places. Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.” ~ Roald Dahl, author of many, wonderful children’s books

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Have you ever seen a Giant Peach?

How ‘bout a Chocolate Factory?

Have Witches ever scared you good?

They haven’t?

Well, if not, they should!

Have you ever met a clever Fox?

Or how about a BFG?

You say you’ve never heard

Of Great Mouse Plots?

Nor hairy-faced Twits?

Well, Goodness Me!

It sounds as if you need a tale

Or maybe even two,

Or three!

Pick one up by Mr. Dahl,

You’ll soon be smiling,

Just wait and see!

 ~ C.L.R. © 2012 ~

(( Mr. Dahl’s books were such a treasured find for me when I was a kid. I highly recommend visiting his official site, and learning more about him. He has several interview questions that he has answered which provide some good tips for aspiring writers! 🙂 ))

About dragonkatet

Regarding the blog name, Dragon’s Dreams ~ The name comes from my love-affairs with both Dragons and Dreams (capital Ds). It’s another extension of who I am, a facet for expression; a place and way to reach other like-minded, creative individuals. I post poetry and images that fascinate or move me, because that’s my favorite way to view the world. I post about things important to me and the world in which we live, try to champion extra important political, societal and environmental issues, etc. Sometimes I wax philosophical, because it’s also a place where I always seem to learn about myself, too, by interacting with some of the brightest minds, souls and hearts out there. It’s all about ‘connection(s)’ and I don’t mean “net-working” with people for personal gain, but rather, the expansion of the 4 L’s: Light, Love, Laughter, Learning.
This entry was posted in Books, Inspiration, Literature, Poetry, Stories. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Happy Birthday, Mr. Dahl!

  1. Jo Bryant says:

    I absolutely love this Corina. Love it, love it, love it.

  2. wightrabbit says:

    A very fitting tribute, to an amazing author, Corina. Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is my favourite! 🙂

  3. Thanks Corina, this was wonderful. Beautiful images too, thanks! I’ve read many of his books, looks like I need to go find the rest and settle in for a good read. 🙂

  4. Luke Prater says:

    Love it! Great tribute sis

  5. Bodhirose says:

    Wow, this was fun, Corina…a sweet tribute to an amazing storyteller.

  6. eebrinker says:

    area where more acclaim should be …. loved the part of my early education class that involved book reports on the children’s books, while designing the curriculm around those themes. takes a great talent.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Eileen. It does indeed take a great talent to entertain children. I agree that not enough people recognize or laud the children’s authors, but they shape the thoughts and ideas of future generations! Loved Dahl growing up and can only hope kids today get to enjoy him as much as we did! 🙂

  7. Luke Prater says:

    droppin’ by to see if you’d posted another poem, sis. Hope you are well. thanks for your comments recently 🙂

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Luke. Just this short tribute to Mr. Dahl recently. I’ve had some family business to attend to and haven’t felt like writing much beyond purging and working through some of the emotions, which make for ehhhh so-so poetry, so I’m trying to move past that and find some good inspiration. I never forget about your wordsalad, it just takes me time, sometimes, to get around to reading everything you post! But I rather enjoy indulging myself with large doses of your work at once. It’s like a smorgasbord and feast for the poetic…well, I’d say soul, but then that would be cliché. 😉

  8. I am already smiling! 🙂 I used to read Dahl stories to my nephew, though in Bulgarian they don’t sound that great like in English! Lovely tribute!

  9. Jamie Dedes says:

    I love his work. Next year I want to get a copy of “Roald Dahl’s Revolting Recipes” and make something from it in honor of his b’day. Have you read any bio’s on him. Very interesting.

    Enjoyed you clever poem and appreciate the link to his website.

    Happy day, dear Corina.

    • dragonkatet says:

      Thanks, Jamie. OH that sounds wonderful! I have not read any bios on him but the peeks into his character on his website were really interesting. You’ll have to be sure and let us know which recipes you make! I need to go look up that book now, it sounds fun.

Leave a Reply

